You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Mozilla Firefox

Mozilla Firefox

Google Chrome

Google Chrome

Internet Explorer 8

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line
Header Image

Delve into the world of illustration on April 9th!


   Author/Illuclcstrator Workshop

 Author and Frostburg State University professor of Illustration, Jamison Odone will be presenting a lecture and workshop on Thursday, April 9th from 1:00-4:00 p.m. along with fellow author/illustrator Timothy Decker, about making Graphic Novels. The pair will speak about their recent book, Lies In The Dust: A Tale Of Remorse From The Salem Witch Trials. The Boston Globe called Lies In The Dust, "stark and affecting".  Odone (writing under the pen name, Jakob Crane) and Decker will speak about working together on the story and pictures, as well as the research involved in writing a piece of graphic historical fiction.
The duo will offer a free workshop to prospective illustrators and artists looking to work in sequential art, illustration, comics, etc., in the new Communications and Technology Building at Frostburg State University. All ages welcome. Bringing drawing supplies is .recommended, though supplies will be made available

The 33rd annual Spring Festival of Children’s Literature!




April 24th - 25th, 2015

Register Online

Resources for Current Registrants

(as indicated on your confirmation card)

Delve into the world of children’s literature at the Children’s Literature Centre’s annual Spring Festival on April 24th-25th. Traditionally held on the last weekend in April, this annual event attracts participants from the Eastern United States. 

The purpose of the Festival is to provide librarians, educators, students, and other advocates the opportunity to experience first-hand interaction with celebrated authors, illustrators and storytellers. Our featured speakers for 2015 are Scott Campbell, Brian Floca, Deborah Hopkinson and Matt Phelan. Small group sessions on current educational topics, as well as book sales, autographing & a luncheon are included in the Festival registration. The Festival concludes with the presentation of the Betty Roemmelmeyer Children’s Literature Advocate Award, given to a teacher, librarian, or individual that possesses and nurtures a love of literature. 

This Year's Featured Authors & Illustrators:


   clc   clc     clc    clc

    Scott Campbell        Brian Floca       Deborah Hopkinson       Matt Phelan

*** Check out their websites by clicking on their names!





Professional Development Credit for Teachers

Educators from Maryland and Pennsylvania have the opportunity to earn 1 credit for Continuing Professional Development at this year's festival! Please visit Credit Information to learn more (located on the left side of this page).


To apply for Professional Development Credit,

please click HERE.


Submit Your Scholarship ApplicationHERE


Professional Development Workshop Information 

(Formally known as Small Group Sessions)

Please click HERE to learn more about this year's Professional Development Workshops.

Reserving Books at Festival

Reserve Your 2015 Festival Books HERE

  • Availability of reserved books depends on publisher's stock, and the Festival cannot be held responsible for unavailability of titles.
  • Books must be picked up and paid for by 8:30 a.m. on Saturday, April 25, at the reserved book table. After 8:30 a.m., unclaimed books will be made available for general purchase.

Book Sales

  • Located on the 2nd floor of the Lane Center.
  • Book Sales will be open during lunch time on Saturday.
  • Spend $100 and receive 10% off your purchase!

Parking for Festival

Parking will be available in the Performing Arts Center lot.

Mailing Sign-Up

Visit the link below to sign up to be on the Spring Festival mailing list.

Share your 2014 Festival Memories!

Click HERE to tell us about your favorite experiences at last year's festival. Please be sure to include your first and last name.

Congratulations to Dr. Edward Root, our 2014 recipient!



Take a look at last year's Authors and Illustrators!


Floyd Cooper

Steve Jenkins

Ben Mikaelsen

Melissa Sweet

 Show Off Your Students' Work!

Are you interested in having your students create an art display for the Festival? Each teacher that submits a display will receive a free book coupon at the Festival and will be entered into a drawing to win an entire collection of autographed books from the Festival presenters. Displays must relate to a book by an author or illustrator at the Festival. For more information or to express interest, contact Dr. Ornstein at


Book display

Previous Festival's Guest Authors and Illustrators

Verna Aardema

Sally Alexander

Kathi Appelt

Jose Aruego

Jennifer Ashabranner

Molly Bang

Rebecca Benton

Mary Berry

Phil Bildner

Robert Blake

Fred Bowen

Muriel Miller Branch

Bill Brittain

Bruce Brooks

Ashley Bryan

Carol Buckley

Scott Bunn

Tommy Casciero

Peter Catalanotto

Lynne Cherry

Grace Chetwin

Gennifer Choldenko

Henry Cole

Jane Conly

Marita Conlon-McKenna

Chris Conover

Jimmy Cook

Floyd Cooper

Katie Davis

Carmen Agra Deedy

Tomie DePaola

Lulu Delacre

Crescent Dragonwagon

Robing and Patricia DeWitt

Robert Dunbar

Jane Dyer

Pamela Duncan Edwards

Laura Malone Elliott

Michael Emberley

Lisa Campbell Ernst

Denise Fleming

Leonard Everett Fisher

Marie-Louise Fitzpatrick

Jean Fritz

Gail Gibbons

Patricia Reilly Giff

Barbara Girion

Mary Downing Hahn

Cheryl Harness

David L. Harrison

Marc Harshman

Kendall Haven

Mary Haynes

Mary Haynes

M.C. Helldorfer

Ruth Heller

Will Hillenbrand

Will Hobbs

Margaret Hodges

Sara Holbrook

Lee Bennett Hopkins

Gloria Houston

Pat Hutchins

Rebecca Jones

Lita Judge

Gloria Kamen

Keiko Kasza

Steven Kellogg

Margaret Kimmel

Daniel Kirk

Elaine Konisburg

Steven Kroll

John Langstaff

Helen Lester

Betsy Lewin

Ted Lewin

E.B. Lewis

Tom Lichtenheld

Thomas Locker

Loren Long

George Ella Lyon

P.J. Lynch

John Manders

Ralph Masiello

Rafe Martin

Elaine Meyers

Gerald McDermott

Megan McDonald

Colleen McKenna

Claudia Mills

Hughes Moir

Marquerite Murray

Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

Kadir Nelson

Vaunda Nelson

David Neuhaus

Jerdine Nolen

Jennifer O’Connell

Isaac Olaleye

Kevin O’Malley

Helen Oxenbury


Siobhan Parkinson

Lillie G. Patterson

Nancy Patz

Richard Peck

Audrey Penn

Erica Perl

Brian Pinkney

Elise Primavera

Bonnie Pryor

Doreen Rappaport

Paul Ratz deTagyos

Carolyn Reeder

Ann Rockwell

Colby Rodowsky

Michael Rosen

Susan Roth

Cynthia Rylant

Mary Quattlebaum

Robert Sabuda

Daniel San Souci

Robert San Souci

Karen Schmidt

Harold Scott

Laura Vaccaro Seeger

Brenda Seabrooke

Brian Selznick

Ellen Showell

Linda Shute

Pam Smallcomb

Peter Spier

Diane Stanley

Susan Fisher Staples

Javaka Steptoe

Matt Tavares

Cynthia Voight

Martin Waddell

Karen Waggoner

Cheryl Ware

Walter Wick

Deborah Wiles

Karen Williams

Mike Wimmer

David Wisniewski

Susan Wojiechowski

Douglas Wood

Kaethe Zemake