You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Mozilla Firefox

Mozilla Firefox

Google Chrome

Google Chrome

Internet Explorer 8

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line
 

Faculty

Dr. Robert Larivee

Dr. Robert Larivee, Chair
Professor
351A Compton Science Center
301.687.4091
rlarivee@frostburg.edu

Dr. Larivee’s specialties include Environmental Chemistry, Chemometrics, Chemical Instrumentation, and Chemical Education, especially training elementary and middle school teachers in the physical sciences. He is currently the Chemical Hygiene Officer for Frostburg State University.

Research Projects: Core-shell nanoparticles for medicinal applications, carbon-sequestration using fly ash

 

Dr. Peggy Biser
Associate Professor
356 Compton Science Center
301.687.3193
pbiser@frostburg.edu

 

Dr. Holly Currie

Dr. Holly Currie
Assistant Professor
347 Compton Science Center
301.687.4359
hncurrie@frostburg.edu

 

Dr. Matthew Crawford

Dr. Matthew Crawford
Assistant Professor
339C Compton Science Center
301.687.4940
mjcrawford@frostburg.edu

Dr. Crawford is an FSU alumni who rejoined his alma mater in 2011 after earning his Ph. D. at Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, PA. His primary interests include organic chemistry, biochemistry, analytical chemistry, as well as chemical education for grades K-12. He is the 2014 recipient of the Maryland Parent Involvement Matters Award, serves on the MSDE Family Engagement Council, the Gifted and Talented Advisory Council, and various committees within the Maryland State PTA, and is the current chair of the Western Maryland Section of the American Chemical Society. 

Research Projects: Solid-Phase Peptide Synthesis and Analysis Using Natural and Unnatural Amino Acids, Local Honey Analysis, Developing Safer Methods to Determine Lead Content in Paint Using Microwave Digestion, Soil and Water Analysis.   

Dr. Benjamin Norris

Dr. Benjamin Norris
Associate Professor
345 Compton Science Center
301.687.4157
bnnorris@frostburg.edu

An alum of FSU, Dr. Norris has been a faculty member at FSU since 2010. He primarily teaches organic chemistry lecture and lab courses, although his interests and expertise also includes polymer chemistry and green chemistry. Dr. Norris advises the Student Members of the American Chemical Society chapter at FSU and was awarded the Faculty Achievement Award for University and Community Service in 2015.

Research Projects: Development of biorenewable organic solvents, small molecule chromophores as chemosensors, structure-property relationships of sequence-controlled oligomers and polymers. 

Dr. Frederick Senese

Dr. Frederick Senese
Professor
354 Compton Science Center
301.687.4153
fsenese@frostburg.edu

 

 

Dr. Jerald Simon
Associate Professor
349 Compton Science Center
301.687.4155
jsimon@frostburg.edu

 

Dr. Adam Brown

Dr. Adam Brown
Lecturer
339B Comptson Science Center
301.687.4939
arbrown@frostburg.edu

Janice Burton

Ms. Janice Burton
Lecturer
339B Compton Science Center
301.687.3020
jmburton@frostburg.edu

 

 

Ms. Christa Kucharczyk
Lecturer
339B Compton Science Center
301.687.3020
cakucharczyk@frostburg.edu

Staff

Mr. Blair Knouse

Mr. Blair Knouse
Academic Lab Manager
357 Compton Science Center
301.687.3131
beknouse@frostburg.edu

Ms. Wendy Miller Ms. Wendy Miller
Administrative Assistance
123 Compton Science Center
301.687.4298 
wmiller@frostburg.edu

Emeriti

 

Dr. Paul Hunt

Dr. James Martin

Dr. Mary Mumper

Dr. Don Weser