You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Mozilla Firefox

Mozilla Firefox

Google Chrome

Google Chrome

Internet Explorer 8

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line
 

What is the FSU Safe Zone program?

The Safe Zone program at FSU is designed to support students, faculty, and staff who identify as a Safe Zone advocate on behalf of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) community.  Through education, advocacy and awareness, they will be empowered to speak out against homophobia and heterosexism. The program’s goal is to contribute to an open campus climate that is safe, accepting and just for all members of the University community.


Goals of the Frostburg State University Safe Zone Program

1. To identify a network of allies who are concerned, empathetic, and knowledgeable about LGBTQ issues.
2. To provide evidence of the support of LGBTQ people and their allies within the Frostburg State University community by posting a sign as tangible evidence of that support.
3. To reduce the fear of reprisal and discrimination by LGBTQ people and their allies within the Frostburg State University community.
4. To assist LGBTQ and allied students in achieving their educational goals by creating an environment in which they can be themselves.


Who can participate in the program?

Anyone in the Frostburg Community can be a Frostburg Safe Zone participant, including faculty, staff, and students. It is hoped that community members of all sexual orientations, gender identities, and gender expressions will become participants.

Upcoming Safe Zone Trainings

Tuesday, February 11, 2014 from 9:30-11:30 a.m.
Thursday, February 20, 2014 from 2-4 p.m.

Please register for the training by contacting either Dr. Shawn Golden-Llewellyn (smgoldenllewellyn@frostburg.edu or ext. 4234) or Dr. Kevin Simonson (krsimonson@frostburg.edu or ext. 4234)

Safe Zone Brown Bag Series

 
Thursday, Feb. 27 from 12:30-1:30 p.m. – LUC 108  - Brian Medina, RLO
Brian will facilitate a lunch discussion about gender neutrality vs. inclusivity with housing and restroom options.  This will include an open dialogue regarding gender neutral or gender inclusive housing and restroom options on college campuses. Come prepared to share your insights and experiences with gender norming and the culture around the topic at Frostburg State University.
 
Wednesday, Mar. 12 from 12-1 p.m. – LUC 108 - Robin Wynder, Diversity Center
This brown bag lunch discussion will be focused on the Genderbread person.  This is a fun and informative graphic that depicts the complexities of gender identity, gender expression, biological sex, and sexual orientation.  See the following link for more details.  http://itspronouncedmetrosexual.com/2012/03/the-genderbread-person-v2-0/
 
Thursday, April 10 from 12:30-1:30 p.m. – LUC 108 - Julie Hartman-Linck, Department of Sociology/Women’s Studies Program
This brown bag lunch discussion will highlight strategies for inclusion of LGBTQ identity/expression/orientation in the classroom.
 

Trained Safe Zone Allies

First Name

Last Name

Campus Address

E-mail Address

Janet

Adesina

 

jaadesina2@frostburg.edu

Heather

Amathauer

205B Lowndes Hall

haamthauer@frostburg.edu

Dawn

Armfield

301D Dunkle Hall

dmarnfield@frostburg.edu

Doug

Baer

Braddock House

djbaer@frostburg.edu

Amanda

Bena

315 Ort Library

albena@frostburg.edu

Paul

Bernhardt

215 Guild Center

pcbernhardt@frostburg.edu

Stephanie

Billard

 

shbillard0@frostburg.edu

Jake

Blakely

 

jablakely0@frostburg.edu

Melissa

Boehm

109-2 Guild Center

mboehm@frostburg.edu

Nicole

Bosley

262 Cordts P.E. Center

nlbosley@frostburg.edu

Shoshana

Brassfield

117C Dunkle Hall

srbrassfield@frostburg.edu

Jennifer

Cruz

 

jscruz0@frostburg.edu

Debbie

Daniels

Edgewood Commons

ddaniels@capstoneoncampus.com

Spencer

Deakin

101 Sandspring Hall

sdeakin@frostburg.edu

Andy

Duncan

313B Dunkle Hall

arduncan@frostburg.edu

Justin

Dunmyre

226 Dunkle Hall

jrdunmyre@frostburg.edu

Travis

English

126A Fine Arts Building

twenglish@frostburg.edu

Lilah

Flores

 

lmflores0@frostburg.edu

Megan

Foy

292 Cordts P.E. Center

mmfoy@frostburg.edu

Shawn

Golden-Llewellyn

101 Sandspring Hall

smgoldenllewellyn@frostburg.edu

Susan

Gray

Cordts P.E. Center

sgray2@frostburg.edu

Jordan

Hall

292 Cordts P.E. Center

jahall0@frostburg.edu

Lisa

Hartman

226 Library

lahartman@frostburg.edu

Julie

Hartman-Linck

30 Guild Center

jehartman@frostburg.edu

Cindy

Hay

140 Pullen Hall

chay@frostburg.edu

Rachel

Hoover

150 Pullen Hall

rshoover@frostburg.edu

Nicole

Houser

215 Fine Arts

nhouser@frostburg.edu

Alexandra

Jones

 

aljones0@frostburg.edu

Kevin

Kehrwald

301C Dunkle Hall

kkehrwald@frostburg.edu

William

Mandicott

231 Lane Center

wmandicott@frostburg.edu

Lea

Messman-Mandicott

236 Ort Library

lmessman@frostburg.edu

Terri

Massie-Burrell

236 Hitchins Bldg.

tmassieburrell@frostburg.edu

Brian

Medina

Annapolis Hall

bamedina@frostburg.edu

Brian

More

Fuller House

bjmore@frostburg.edu

Rhiannon

Morgret

150 Pullen Hall

rcmorgret@frostburg.edu

Jill

Morris

138A Dunkle Hall

jamorris@frostburg.edu

Michael

Murtagh

207A Guild Center

mpmurtagh@frostburg.edu

Kathy

Powell

018 Guild Center

kpowell@frostburg.edu

John

Raucci

301A Dunkle Hall

jfraucci@frostburg.edu

Beth

Scarloss

110 Frampton Hall

bscarloss@frostburg.edu

Dana

Severance

Annapolis Hall

dseverance@frostburg.edu

Amy

Shimko

124 Sandspring Hall

alshimko@frostburg.edu

Kevin

Simonson

101 Sandspring Hall

krsimonson@frostburg.edu

Cynthia

Smith

Public Safety Building

colsmith@frostburg.edu

Gina

Smith

Public Safety Building

gmsmith@frostburg.edu

Megan

Smith

 

mssmith02@frostburg.edu

Karen

Soderberg

203 Performing Arts Center

ksoderberg@frostburg.edu

Beth

Stalllings

150 Pullen Hall

bstallings@frostburg.edu

Sally

Stephenson

223 Frampton Hall

sstephenson@frostburg.edu

David

Stern

306 Performing Arts Center

dbstern@frostburg.edu

Stacey

Utley-Bernhardt

213 Hitchins Building

subernhardt@frostburg.edu

Harley

Wade

 

hlwade0@frostburg.edu

Robin

Wynder

126 Hitchens Building

RWynder@frostburg.edu