You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Mozilla Firefox

Mozilla Firefox

Google Chrome

Google Chrome

Internet Explorer 8

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line

What is the FSU Safe Zone program?

The Safe Zone program at FSU is designed to support students, faculty, and staff who identify as a Safe Zone advocate on behalf of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) community.  Through education, advocacy and awareness, they will be empowered to speak out against homophobia and heterosexism. The program’s goal is to contribute to an open campus climate that is safe, accepting and just for all members of the University community.

Goals of the Frostburg State University Safe Zone Program

1. To identify a network of allies who are concerned, empathetic, and knowledgeable about LGBTQ issues.
2. To provide evidence of the support of LGBTQ people and their allies within the Frostburg State University community by posting a sign as tangible evidence of that support.
3. To reduce the fear of reprisal and discrimination by LGBTQ people and their allies within the Frostburg State University community.
4. To assist LGBTQ and allied students in achieving their educational goals by creating an environment in which they can be themselves.

Who can participate in the program?

Anyone in the Frostburg Community can be a Frostburg Safe Zone participant, including faculty, staff, and students. It is hoped that community members of all sexual orientations, gender identities, and gender expressions will become participants.

Upcoming Safe Zone Trainings

No trainings scheduled at this time. Check back soon for  Fall 2015 training dates. 

Safe Zone Brown Bag Series

Sexual Assault and LGBTQ Students: Thursday, April 30, 2015 at 11:00 AM, Lane Center 108. Emily Caputo, FSU Title IX Compliance Coordinator will discuss issues that tie together Sexual Assault Awareness Month and Safe Zone's commitment to making FSU a safe place for LGBTQ students. 
Trans 201 Workshop: Wednesday, May 6, 2015 at noon, Lane Center 108. A follow-up to the "Trans 101" workshop presented by Andrew Anastasia, Dept of English. 

Trained Safe Zone Allies


First Name Last Name Campus Address Email
Janet Adesina
Andrew Anastasia 301D Dunkle Hall
Dawn Armfield 301D Dunkle Hall
Amy Branam Armiento 313A Dunkle Hall
April Baer 116 Hitchins
Doug Baer Braddock House
Amanda Bena 315 Ort Library
Paul Bernhardt 215 Guild Center
Stephanie Billard
Jake Blakely
Sally Boniece 107 Dunkle Hall
Nicole Bosley 262 Cordts P.E. Center
Shoshana Brassfield 117C Dunkle Hall
Katie Buehner Annapolis Hall - RLO
Ashley Bunting 116 Hitchins
Jennifer Cruz
Debbie Daniels Edgewood Commons
Annie Danzi CCIT 348G
Dustin Davis 106 B Fine Arts
Spencer Deakin 101 Sandspring Hall
Ryan Delaney
Andy Duncan 313B Dunkle Hall
Justin Dunmyre 226 Dunkle Hall
Travis English 126A Fine Arts Building
Megan Foy 292 Cordts P.E. Center
Mark Gallagher PAC
Shawn Golden-Llewellyn 101 Sandspring Hall
Susan Gray Cordts P.E. Center
Jordan Hall 292 Cordts P.E. Center
Keith Hanlon 202 PAC
Lisa Hartman 226 Library
Julie Hartman-Linck 30 Guild Center
Cindy Hay 140 Pullen Hall
Beth Hoffman 329 Hitchins
Rachel Hoover 150 Pullen Hall
Alexandra Jones
Kevin Kehrwald 301C Dunkle Hall
Steve Kennedy 274L CCIT
Kevin Kidwell
John Lombardi 348H CCIT
Melanie Lombardi 348K CCIT
William Mandicott 231 Lane Center
Anette Melendez
Lea Messman-Mandicott 236 Ort Library
Terri Massie-Burrell 236 Hitchins Bldg.
Eleanor McConnell 105B Dunkle Hall
Kris McGee FSU- Hagerstown
Sean McNalley Annapolis Hall - RLO
Brian Medina Annapolis Hall
Nicole More Fuller House
Rhiannon Morgret 150 Pullen Hall
Jill Morris 138A Dunkle Hall
Michael Murtagh 207A Guild Center
Kathy Powell 018 Guild Center
John Raucci 301A Dunkle Hall
Vincent Rawlings
Curtis Ridenour
Michael Sanford 274F CCIT
Beth Scarloss 110 Frampton Hall
Dana Severance Annapolis Hall
Amy Shimko 124 Sandspring Hall
Kevin Simonson 101 Sandspring Hall
Donna Sivic Sandspring Hall
Cynthia Smith Public Safety Building
Gina Smith Public Safety Building
Megan Smith
Karen Soderberg 203 Performing Arts Center
Beth Stalllings 150 Pullen Hall
Sally Stephenson 223 Frampton Hall
David Stern 306 Performing Arts Center
Stacey Utley-Bernhardt 213 Hitchins Building
Harley Wade
Eric Williams Edgewood Commons
Greg Wood Fuller House
Robin Wynder 126 Hitchens Building