You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Mozilla Firefox

Mozilla Firefox

Google Chrome

Google Chrome

Internet Explorer 8

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line
Header image


CLC Book Award


In 2012, the Children's Literature Centre created an annual award for the children's picture book that most embodies the attributes of compassion, love, and courage. Our aim is to encourage and support an author/illustrator in the early years of his or her career, who has published in the United States during the preceding three years.


A nominating committee, comprised of Children's Literature Centre staff members, FSU Education Department faculty members, and practicing professionals, carefully consider all nominations  by choosing the winning title based on its literary and artistic merit; inspiration of compassion, love, and courage; date of publication; and proximity to Frostburg, MD. Once a book has been selected, the authors/ illustrators are then notified and invited to attend our annual CLC Book Award Banquet, held the first Saturday in October.


Join us for our seventh annual

Children's Literature Centre Book Award Banquet 

as we honor Caron Levis for her book,

Ida, Always


Saturday, October 6, 2018

Room 397, Gira Center

5:30 PM Cash Bar | 6 PM Dinner | 7 PM Presentation of Award

$30/Person | $50/Couple | $230/Table of 8 

RSVP by September 21, 2018

Contact the Children's Literature Centre at 301.687.3133, or to RSVP!

To visit Caron's website, click here!: Caron Levis

Check out the fun from this video created about our 2016 CLC Book Award Banquet



Past CLC Book Award Recipients

2017 Award Recipient

The Uncorker of Ocean Bottles

Author: Michelle Cuevas Illustrator: Erin Stead

**Click on the author's name to visit their website!


2016 Award Recipient

Stick and Stone

Author: Beth Ferry Illustrator:Tom Lichtenheld

**Click on the author's name to visit their website!



2015 Award Recipient

Otto the Owl Who Loved Poetry

Vern Kousky

**Click on the author's name to visit their website!

book award


2014 Award Recipient


Emily Kate Moon

*** Click on the author's name to take you to her website!




2013 Award Recipient

Too Tall Houses

Gianna Marino

*** Click on the author's name to take you to her website!



2012 Award Recipient:

Same, Same but Different

Jenny Sue-Kostecki Shaw

*** Click on the author's name to take you to her website!

Jenny Sue Kostecki Shaw