You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Mozilla Firefox

Mozilla Firefox

Google Chrome

Google Chrome

Internet Explorer 8

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line
Header image

CLC Book Award


Click here to submit your nominations for the 2019 CLC Book Award!

The Children's Literature Centre presented its first CLC Book Award in 2012. This annual award is given to a children's picture book which most embodies the attributes of: compassion, love, or courage.  Our aim is to encourage and support an author/illustrator in the early years of their career, who has published in the United States during within the past three years.

A nominating committee has been formed that includes staff members of the Children's Literature Centre, Education Department faculty members and practicing professionals.  Publishers, authors and illustrators, along with the general public, may submit books for consideration.  Titles must be submitted for consideration as soon as possible.

Books will be chosen according to the following criteria:

  1. Only picture books (of any genre) can be considered. 
  2. The winning book will have literary/artistic merit.
  3. The winning book will inspire compassion, love, or courage in the children who read it. 
  4. Only titles published in the three-year period before the submission date (October 31st in the year preceding the award) will be considered. 
  5. Titles must currently be in print.
  6. Winning author/illustrator must live in North America, in reasonable proximity, so that they may travel to the CLC Award Banquet to accept the award.
  7. Recipients may not receive the award two consecutive years. 
  8.  The book is aimed to support an author/illustrator in the early years of their career, which has published in the United States. (i.e. 2013 - 2016)

The winning author/illustrator will receive $500.00 and an engraved crystal-glass commemorative, along with having all expenses paid for attending the Spring Festival.  The winning title will also be available for Festival attendees to buy.  The winning author will be expected to discuss his/her work as it relates to our theme in a presentation and he/she must be available for autographing during the Banquet.

Previous Winners



The Uncorker of Ocean Bottles

Written by Michelle Cuevas

Ilustrated by Erin Stead



Stick and Stone

Written by Beth Ferry

Illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld



Otto the Owl Who Loved Poetry

By: Vern Kousky




By: Emily Kate Moon



Too Tall Houses

By: Gianna Marino



Same, Same, But Different

By: Jenny Sue Kostecki-Shaw