You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Mozilla Firefox

Mozilla Firefox

Google Chrome

Google Chrome

Internet Explorer 8

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line
Header image

Betty Roemmelmeyer Advocate Award


Who is the lady behind the award?

Betty Louise Roemmelmeyer

December 3, 1920 – April 10, 1986

Betty Roemmelmeyer was an admirable teacher.  Throughout her career, she was an active member of many social and academic organizations.  She was President of the Allegany County Retired Teachers’ Association, a member and past historian of the Tri-State Chapter of Phi Delta Kappa, Chair of the Committee on Christmas Decorations at the Woman’s Civic Club of the Cumberland area, a member of Delta Kappa Gamma Society International – Eta Chapter, a member and past officer of Preceptor Rho Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi, Deacon of the Consistory at Zion United Church of Christ in Cumberland, a retired Assistant Professor of Education at Frostburg State University, and a staunch supporter of the Spring Festival of Children’s Literature at Frostburg State University.  Betty Roemmelmeyer’s legacy is a superb knowledge of curriculum, teaching strategies, and a true love of children’s literature.


The Betty Roemmelmeyer Advocate Award

The Betty Roemmelmeyer Advocate Award is given to a teacher, librarian, or other advocate who exhibits a love of children’s literature and strives to share it with others.  The award winner is chosen by a selection committee and announced at the Festival luncheon each year.  Anyone wishing to make a nomination should send a letter of recommendation to the Children’s Literature Centre by January 1st of each year.


Congratulations to all of our past recipients!

2016- Dr. Emily Milleson

2015- Anne O'Hare

2014- Dr. Edward Root

2013- Ellen Mager

2012- Jackie "Elsie" Brady

2011- Kim Collins

2010- Roberta Clarke

2009- Nancy Sudine

2008- Margaret E. Vorous

2007- Mary Rogers

2006- Fred Powell

2005- Connie Wilson

2004- Betty Calhoun

2003- Patricia Macchiarolo

2002- Jonathan Whetstone

2001- Kathy Gess

2000- Ellen Sause

1999- Carolyn Brown

1998- Angie Fentress

1997- Cassie Whetstone

1996- Barbara Ornstein

1995- Jonathan Shirley

1994- Sharon Ashby

1993- Mary Margaret Ward

1992- Thomas Palardy

1991- Nancy Reed

1990- Janet Simmons

1989- Barbara Six

1988- Estelle Williamson

1987- Jane Guyton

1986- Margaret Hamilton

1985- Ada Schrock