You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Mozilla Firefox

Mozilla Firefox

Google Chrome

Google Chrome

Internet Explorer 8

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line

Student Organizations > National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC)

Greek-lettered fraternities and sororities have played a major role in American college life since 1776. Black college fraternities and sororities did not emerge until the early 1900's. And have since maintained their strength and unity through wide spread brother and sister hood at universities nationwide.These groups have played a major role in the cultural, social and civic life of their communities.

The National Pan-Hellenic Council shall serve as the official coordinating agent of the nine (9) constituent member Greek Letter fraternities and sororities in the furtherance of their program unity on college and university campuses and within several communities wherein graduate and/or alumni(ae) chapters of said fraternities and sororities are located. There are four (4) of the nine (9) active organizations on FSU's campus:




Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity Inc. was founded at Howard University in Washington, DC, January 9, 1914, by three young African -American male students. The founders, Honorable A. Langston Taylor, Honorable Leonard R. Morse, and Honorable Charles I. Brown, wanted to organize a Greek letter fraternity that would truly exemplify the ideals of brotherhood, scholarship, and service.

The founders believed that each potential member should be judged on his own merits rather than his family background or affluence.without regard of race, nationality, color, skin tone or texture of hair.

From its inception, the founders also conceived Phi Beta Sigma as a mechanism to deliver services to the general community. The three National Programs of Bigger and Better Business, Social Action, and Education, help focus the fraternity on delivering to the needs of today's and tomorrow's world.




Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. was founded on the campus of Howard University on January 16, 1920 by five illustrious women. These five women, our five pearls, were trailblazers; transcending the bounds of finer womanhood. Arizona Cleaver Stemmons, Myrtle Tyler Faithful, Pearl Anna Neal, Fannie Pettie Watts and Viola Tyler were the initiators of the foundation of sisterhood that now spans the globe encompassing more that 100,000 members. Assisting our founders in establishing a well rounded, self sustaining and innovative organization were two Brothers of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. Abraham Langston Taylor, and Charles Robert Taylor.

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. was founded on the ideals of scholarship, sisterly love, community service and finer womanhood. With these ideals under our wings, Zeta has set a tradition of firsts. Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. was the first Greek letter organization to charter a chapter in Africa, form auxiliary groups, and establish a national headquarters. Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. is the first and only Black Greek letter organization to be constitutionally bound to a fraternity, Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.

As an international service organization, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. has over 100,000 members in more than 50 chapters including West Africa, West Germany, Bahamas Islands, Virgin Islands, South Korea, and Italy.




Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., was founded on January 13,1913 at Howard University by 22 undergraduate women. These young women wanted to use their collective strength to promote academic excellence and to provide assistance to persons in need. Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., is a private, non-profit organization whose purpose is to provide services and programs to promote human welfare.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., has a membership of over190,000 predominately African-American, college-educated women. The Sorority currently has 870-plus chapters located in the United States, Japan, Germany, Bermuda, Haiti, Liberia, the Bahamas, the Republic of Korea and the Virgin Islands.

The major programs of the Sorority are based upon the organization's Five-Point Program Thrust:

Delta's Five-Point Program Thrust

  • Economic Development
  • Educational Development
  • International Awareness & Involvement
  • Physical & Mental Health
  • Political Awareness & Involvement




Omega Psi Phi Fraternity- On Friday evening, November 17, 1911, three Howard University undergraduate students, with the assistance of their faculty adviser, gave birth to the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity. This event occurred in the office of biology Professor Ernest E. Just, the faculty adviser, in the Science Hall (now known as Thirkield Hall). The three liberal arts students were Edgar A. Love, Oscar J. Cooper and Frank Coleman.

From the initials of the Greek phrase meaning "friendship is essential to the soul," the name Omega Psi Phi was derived. The phrase was selected as the motto. Manhood, scholarship, perseverance and uplift were adopted as cardinal principles. A decision was made regarding the design for the pin and emblem, and thus ended the first meeting of the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity .

The purpose of the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Incorporated shall be to bring a union of college men of similar high ideals of scholarship and manhood in order to:

  • Stimulate the attainment of ideas and ambitions of all it's members.
  • Disseminate and inculcate those ideas among those with whom it's members come in contact.
  • Cooperate with the school where it's chapters may be located in fostering these ideas.
  • Occupy a progressive, helpful, and constructive role in the civil and political life of the community and the nation.
  • Prepare it's members for greater usefulness in the causes of humanity, freedom, and dignity of their individuals.
  • Aid down-trodden humanity in it's efforts to achieve higher social, economical, and intellectual status.