Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

2013 Faculty Achievement Award Winners Honored at University Convocation

2013 Faculty Achievement Award Winners Honored at University Convocation
Dr. Yan Bao, Andy Duncan, Dr. Michael P. Murtagh and Dr. Elesha L. Ruminski
The recipients of the 2013 Faculty Achievement Awards, with top graduating students from every degree program, will be honored at the University Honors Convocation on Friday, May 17, at 7:30 p.m. in the Pealer Recital Hall of the Performing Arts Center.

This year’s Faculty Achievement Award recipients are Dr. Yan Bao, Department of Accounting, for Teaching; Andy Duncan, Department of English, for Academic Achievement; and Dr. Michael P. Murtagh, Department of Psychology, and Dr. Elesha L. Ruminski, Department of Communication Studies, for University and Community Service. The awards are made possible through generous gifts to the FSU Foundation, Inc.

In addition to the faculty awards, one graduating student per degree program will be honored for academic excellence and leadership.

As an associate professor of accounting, Bao has been rated an outstanding teacher by students and colleagues. She has taught at the undergraduate and graduate levels in face-to-face and online classes. Bao relies on a learning model of conversational and discussion learning coupled with extensive feedback. She has fully embraced technology in her online classes. She has led the highly successful study abroad Impact China Program, which provided a unique opportunity for experiential learning. Many of her service and research activities are student centered. She continues to be a great influence on other faculty by helping them become better teachers.

Duncan, an assistant professor of English, has made an outstanding contribution to his field. He has published six books, with three coming from his time as a faculty member of FSU: “Alabama Curiosities,” “The Night Cache” and “The Pottawatomie Giant and Other Stories.” In addition, he has published four short stories in top speculative-fiction markets as well as critical articles. His short story “Close Encounters” was recently announced as a finalist for the Nebula Award, presented annually by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, marking his seventh overall appearance on a Nebula ballot. Also, he has been profiled as a fiction writer in two national magazines, “Locus” in November 2011 and “Orson Scott Card’s Intergalactic Medicine Show” in October 2010.

As an associate professor of psychology, Murtagh has displayed an outstanding commitment to FSU and its neighboring community. He serves as chair of the Tenure/Promotion Subcommittee, Graduate Council and Institutional Review Board, as well as a member of several other University and department committees. In addition, he serves his community as the vice president of the Board of Directors of the Mountainside Community Mediation Center and as a member of the Board of Directors of the Family Crisis Resource Center. Incorporating his area of expertise and research, he has made significant contributions in the area of awareness about sexual assault and gender-based violence.

Ruminski, an associate professor of communication studies, has served her University and community with great zeal. She serves as the president of the Board of Directors of the Mountainside Community Mediation Center. She has been honored as the 2012 Administrator of the Year by the National States Advisory Council and as an Outstanding Service Learning Faculty and an “Empowering Leader” by Student and Educational Services. She serves as the project manager for the Sustaining Campus and Community Dialogue Series to engage the community in problem-solving around community issues through the use of communication and coalition-building in Frostburg. She has also served as the president of the Maryland Communication Association and organized the organization’s annual conference on Frostburg’s campus in 2010. In addition, she serves on numerous University and department committees.

For more information, contact the Office of the Provost at 301-687-4211.

Situated in the mountains of Allegany County, Frostburg State University is one of the 12 institutions of the University System of Maryland. FSU is a comprehensive, residential regional university and serves as an educational and cultural center for Western Maryland. For more information, visit or Follow FSU on Twitter @frostburgstate.

FSU is committed to making all of its programs, services and activities accessible to persons with disabilities. To request accommodations through the ADA Compliance Office, call 301-687-4102 or use a Voice Relay Operator at 1-800-735-2258. -end-

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589