Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

2014 Faculty Achievement Award Winners Honored at University Convocation

The recipients of the 2014 Faculty Achievement Awards, with top graduating students from every degree program, will be honored at the University Honors Convocation on Wednesday, May 21, at 7:30 p.m. in the Pealer Recital Hall of the Performing Arts Center.

This year’s Faculty Achievement Award recipients are Dr. Stephen Hartlaub, Department of Political Science, for Teaching; Dr. Scott Johnson, Department of Political Science, for Academic Achievement; and Dr. Julie Hartman-Linck, Department of Sociology, for University and Community Service. The awards are made possible through generous gifts to the FSU Foundation, Inc.

In addition to the faculty awards, one graduating student per degree program will be honored for academic excellence and leadership.

Sample Image
Dr. Stephen Hartlaub
Dr. Scott Johnson
Dr. Scott Johnson
Dr. Julie Hartman-Linck
Dr. Julie Hartman-Linck

As a professor of political science, Hartlaub has demonstrated a pattern of teaching excellence over 20 years at FSU. He has taught 14 different courses during his career at this institution, including freshman orientation, three courses outside of Political Science and well over a hundred independent readings courses. In addition, he has taught honors seminars and participated in learning communities. He is described by colleagues as a bright and analytical educator who maintains a keen ability to connect with undergraduate students. Students appreciate his ambition to improve constantly as a professor and develop as a student mentor. Hartlaub is a gifted teacher who strives to make every lecture the best.

Johnson, a professor of political science, has produced an impressive array of scholarly work in recent years. His recent book, “The Faces of Lee Harvey Oswald,” provides objective critiques of the major conspiracy theories surrounding Oswald’s role in the assassination of John F. Kennedy. In addition, Johnson released a two-volume encyclopedia titled “Trials of the Century: An Encyclopedia of Popular Culture and the Law in 2010.” The encyclopedia places popular court cases withinhistorical frameworks. He has authored numerous peer-reviewed journal articles and conference presentations over the course of his academic career. Johnson is a well-respected teacher-scholar contributing to the esteem of this University.

As an assistant professor of sociology and women’s studies, Hartman-Linck has exhibited an exceptional record of service to FSU and the surrounding community. She serves as chair of the President’s Advisory Council Against Gender-Based Violence, a faculty senator and faculty advisor for Students for Women’s Issues and Breaking Through Glass, as well as a member of several other University committees. In addition, she serves the community as a member and secretary of the Board of Directors for the Family Crisis Resource Center. She is passionate about making FSU a welcoming campus environment to help attract and retain a diverse range of students, particularly in making the campus and community a safer and more welcoming place for women and gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender students and community members. Hartman-Linck displays exemplary service to her students, the University and the community.

For more information, contact the Office of the Provost at 301-687-4211.

Situated in the mountains of Allegany County, Frostburg State University is one of the 12 institutions of the University System of Maryland. FSU is a comprehensive, residential regional university and serves as an educational and cultural center for Western Maryland. For more information, visit or Follow FSU on Twitter @frostburgstate.

FSU is committed to making all of its programs, services and activities accessible to persons with disabilities. To request accommodations through the ADA Compliance Office, call 301-687-4102 or use a Voice Relay Operator at 1-800-735-2258.


For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589