Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

ACFC to Expand to Six Teams in 2004

DOVER, DE — The Atlantic Central Football Conference has announced two additions to the football-only conference beginning in 2004.

SUNY-Brockport and SUNY-Buffalo State will join existing members Apprentice, Frostburg State University, Salisbury University and Wesley College in the fall of 2004 with a full conference schedule.

Both Brockport and Buffalo State bring storied programs to the ACFC.

Brockport has advanced to the NCAA Division III playoffs each of the last three seasons. Last year, the Golden Eagles finished 10-3 and reached the national quarterfinals.

Rocco Salomone's squad ranked 13th in the final AFCA coaches poll and was named the Division III ECAC and Lambert Cup Team of the Year.

Buffalo State, coached by Bob Swank, has had a long history of excellence on the gridiron. From 1990 to 2000, the Bengals compiled an 85-30 (.739) overall record and made 10 consecutive postseason appearances, including seven NCAA playoff berths.

Last season, Buffalo State had its streak of 11 winning seasons halted, finishing 1-9 against some of the top teams in the East.

Formed in the fall of 1997, the ACFC began play officially in 1998 with the inaugural membership including previous football-independents Wesley, Methodist, Frostburg State, Chowan, Ferrum and Salisbury. Greensboro (N.C.) joined the league in 1999 but departed for the Dixie Conference along with Ferrum, Methodist and Chowan for the 2001 season.

Due to scheduling conflicts, no champion was crowned in 1998. Frostburg State claimed the first official ACFC title in 1999, followed by Wesley in 2000 and 2001. Last season, FSU won its second crown with a 3-0 record.

Two teams have represented the ACFC in the NCAA Tournament — Wesley in 2000 and Salisbury in 2002. With the addition of Brockport and Buffalo State, five of the six ACFC teams will have NCAA playoff experience (FSU earned an NCAA playoff berth in 1993 and reached the national quarterfinals).

FSU is 1-1 all-time against Buffalo State and 4-7 all-time versus Brockport. FSU faced Buffalo State in 1984 and 1985, while the Bobcats and Golden Eagles have met every year since 1992.

"I think this expansion will be great for the conference," said Bobcat head coach Rubin Stevenson, who is 15-15 in his three seasons. "This certainly makes the ACFC more viable and one of the top leagues in the country on paper. There's a lot of success and tradition with all of the schools, and it should make for a great deal of excitement."

The ACFC kicks off the 2003 season on September 6.

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of Sports Information
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-4371
Fax: 301-687-4780