Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

AMCC Expands to 10 Member Schools

PITTSBURGH — The Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference expects to stand at ten schools by the 2004-05 academic year, announced AMCC Commissioner Donna Ledwin.

Joining the current seven members will be Hilbert College and Medaille College, both in the Buffalo, N.Y. area, and Mount Aloysius College, located in Cresson, Pa.

The vote to expand was taken recently at the NCAA Convention in Anaheim, California by the AMCC Council of Presidents.

"This is a big step forward in the continuing evolution of the conference," stated Msgr. William Kerr, president of La Roche College and chair of the AMCC Council of Presidents. "The addition of these three institutions adds strength to our organization and to our competitive structure."

Both Hilbert and Medaille are currently members of NCAA Division III, a requirement for AMCC membership.

Mt. Aloysius is entering the NCAA provisional member process and will be eligible to participate in the conference as soon as they are slotted into a class of incoming members, which may be as soon as September 2003 but not later than September 2005.

The conference plans to separate into a north and south division for team sports competition effective with the 2004-05 academic year, which is the same year that the AMCC will receive an automatic bid to the NCAA tournament in seven sports (women’s volleyball, men’s and women’s soccer, men’s and women’s basketball, softball and baseball).

The three new members sponsor all seven AQ sports, which will allow for a five-and-five split: Pitt-Bradford, Penn State Behrend, Lake Erie College, Hilbert and Medaille in the north, and La Roche, Penn State Altoona, Pitt-Greensburg, Frostburg State University and Mt. Aloysius in the south.

The likelihood in most sports is that teams will play each other twice within their division, once outside their division, and meet in a cross-over tournament to decide the conference champion and the recipient of the NCAA tournament bid.

The new member schools will be immediately eligible for competition in the individual sports (men’s and women’s cross country, men’s and women’s tennis, men’s and women’s golf).

Chatham College, a women’s college in Pittsburgh, was also approved to join the AMCC as an affiliate member in women’s tennis, effective with the Fall 2003 season.

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of Sports Information
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-4371
Fax: 301-687-4780