Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

Bingman, Ornstein Honor FSU Children's Literature Centre's "Irish Connection"

Bingman, Ornstein Honor FSU Children's Literature Centre's "Irish Connection"
Former Graduate Assistants: Back row: Peter Walsh, Maeve O’Connell, Sarah Burke, Rosemarie Giltenane and Catherine O’Donnell. Front row: Siobhan Broderick, Aisling Beecher, Dr. Sarah Fitzpatrick
Dr Bill Bingman and Dr. Barbara Ornstein of Frostburg State University visited Mary Immaculate College in Limerick, Ireland, on Jan. 3, 2013, to present a commemorative plaque to the College which celebrated the accomplishments of MIC graduates in the teaching, learning and research life of FSU and, more especially, their contributions to the FSU Children’s Literature Centre.

In attendance at the presentation, were many of the former Graduate Assistantship recipients including Dr. Sarah Fitzpatrick, Deputy CEO, NCCA and Dr. Peter Walsh, Principal St. Conaire’s National School, Shannon. The sharing of learning experiences has been a highlight at reunions throughout the years and the voices of the recipients help to convey the spirit of life in FSU.

Professor Michael Hayes, President of Mary Immaculate College, noted that "the College’s Strategic Plan makes specific reference to an international dimension to all College activities. And that it is our intention to internationalize all our programs and give all our students the wonderful opportunity afforded to those who have traveled to Frostburg."

Dr. William Bingman expressed his delight to be here "to honor the students from Mary Immaculate College who had accepted International Graduate Assistantships in Frostburg State University since 1992." He thanked them for "the phenomenal contribution they had made not only to the Campus but the wider community". He also went on to thank Diarmuid O’Driscoll, Professor Jim Deegan and Professor Teresa O’Doherty for sending such high caliber students to Frostburg.

Web Address for More Information:

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589