Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

Chancellor Kirwan Appoints Frostburg State University Presidential Search and Screening Committee

Chancellor Kirwan Appoints Frostburg State University Presidential Search and Screening Committee

Adelphi, MD (April 29, 2015) – William E. Kirwan, chancellor of the University System of Maryland, today announced his appointment of the search and screening committee for the president of Frostburg State University, one of the university system’s 12 institutions.

FSU President Jonathan Gibralter announced in February that he is leaving the University to become president of Wells College in Aurora, N.Y. Gibralter has been president of FSU since August 2006 and will join Wells on July 1. On that date, FSU Vice President for Student Affairs Tom Bowling will temporarily succeed Gibralter as interim president.

The chair of the search and screening committee is Thomas G. Slater, an FSU alumnus, member of the USM Board of Regents and founder and principal partner of Slater & Slater.

The other members of the committee, which includes representatives from FSU faculty, staff, students and alumni, and from the greater community, are:

  • Sydney B. Duncan, associate professor and chair, Department of English
  • Carol J. Gaumer, professor of marketing and chair, Department of Marketing and Finance
  • Sudhir Singh, associate dean, College of Business
  • James C. Saku, professor, Department of Geography
  • John L. Stoothoff, assistant professor, Department of Educational Professions
  • Julie E. Hartman-Linck, associate professor, Department of Sociology; Coordinator, The Women's Studies Program; Vice Chair, FSU Faculty Senate
  • Mary Kay Finan, FSU Foundation
  • W. Robert Flanigan, mayor of the City of Frostburg
  • Mary Mumper, FSU Foundation
  • Troy Donoway, chief information officer
  • Robert Cooper, director of Student Activities
  • Katelyn Currier, FSU junior and president-elect of the Student Government Association
  • Kenneth Johnson, graduate student candidate for master’s in education

Katie Ryan, senior adviser to the chancellor, is serving as liaison to the chancellor.

The committee’s work will conclude with its recommendation of finalists for consideration by the chancellor and the Board of Regents. The board will make the final selection.

For more information about FSU, visit


For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589