Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

Commencement Ceremonies Slated for Saturday, May 21

The 126th commencement ceremonies at Frostburg State University will be held Saturday, May 21, in the Harold J. Cordts Main Arena on the FSU campus.

Dr. Catherine R. Gira, FSU president, will confer degrees on graduates during two exercises throughout the day. The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences will present degrees beginning at 10 a.m. and the College of Business and the College of Education ceremony will start at 2 p.m.

The special guest speaker at both events will be William E. Kirwan, chancellor of the University System of Maryland. Student speakers at the spring commencement are William E. Dove, Jr., College of Business; Patrick Grof-Tisza, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and Sharee Raley, College Education.

William English Kirwan became the third chancellor of the University System of Maryland in 2002. Kirwan served as president of Ohio State University for four years and as president of the University of Maryland, College Park for nine years. Prior to his presidency, he was a member of the University of Maryland faculty for 34 years. He received his bachelor’s degree in mathematics from the University of Kentucky and his master’s and doctoral degrees in mathematics from Rutgers and The State University of New Jersey in 1962 and 1964. The recipient of many honors, Kirwan received the National Innovators Award, the highest honor awarded by Minority Access, Inc., recognizing his commitment to diversity and to improving the recruitment and retention of minorities. In 2002, he was elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. In addition, Kirwan received the Maryland Senate’s First Citizen of Maryland Award in 1998.

William “Billy” Dove will graduate with honors as he earns his degree in accounting. Throughout his years at FSU, Dove, a native of Mt. Airy, Md., has received several awards and scholarships, including the FSU Accounting Department Scholarship, Sarfino and Rhodes Scholarship and Accounting Department Honors. He recently completed an internship at Allegany Business Consulting in Cumberland, where he prepared both corporate and individual income taxes for clients. Dove was involved in several campus organizations, including serving as the secretary of the FSU Accounting Association and working as a resident in the residence halls. He has already been accepted to the Master of Science in Accountancy Program at the College of Charlestown, S.C., where he has received a graduate assistantship.

Grof-Tisza studied biotechnology and chemistry at FSU. Last summer, he participated in a highly competitive internship at the University of Pittsburgh, sponsored through the National Science Foundation. A native of Somerset, Pa., Grof-Tisza has presented research papers at national and regional symposia and conferences and has served as a tutor for both biology and chemistry courses. He is a member of Beta Beta Beta National Biology Honors Society, in which he served as vice president and the student chapter of the American Chemical Society. Upon graduation, Grof-Tisza will seek employment in the biotech industry.

As an elementary education major, Raley continually received praise from her professors for her exemplary work and creativity. Specializing in mathematics, she served as a teaching intern at Northeast Elementary and Washington Middle schools in Allegany County. Raley has received the Hope Education Scholarship for four years and is a member of the Maryland Students Education Association. Outside the classroom, she has volunteered her time to community events such as Read Across America and local after-school programs. A lifelong resident of Frostburg, Raley plans to obtain her Master’s Degree in Education from FSU beginning this fall.

Presenting candidates for degrees will be Dr. Stephen Simpson, provost; Susan Arisman, dean of the College of Education; Dr. Danny Arnold, dean of the College of Business: and Dr. Joseph Hoffman, dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Tickets are required for entrance to the spring commencement. For more information, log on to the FSU Web site at

FSU is committed to making all of its programs, services and activities accessible to persons with disabilities. You may request accommodations through the ADA Compliance Office at 301-687-4102, TDD 301-687-7955.

Web Address for More Information:

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589