Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

Cross Country Teams Conclude Seasons at NCAA Mideast Regional Championships

BETHLEHEM, PA — The Frostburg State men's and women's cross country teams ended their seasons at the NCAA Division III Mideast Regional Championship held Saturday at Lehigh University.

The Bobcat men placed 20th out of 31 teams, while the women finished 29th out of 34 squads.

Junior Mike Replogle (Union Bridge, Md./Francis Scott Key) paced the FSU men by finishing 98th out of 220 runners. He set a personal record with a time of 28:12.61.

Freshman Kevin Ripple (Mechanicsville, Md./Leonardtown) placed 120th in a time of 28:45.60, while fellow rookie Ron Lipscomb (Lonaconing, Md./Northern Garrett) ran a personal-best 29:30.12 to finish 150th.

Freshman Sy Farris (Fort Ashby, W.Va./Frankfort) was 153rd in a time of 29:32.57, and sophomore Brian Gallagher (Burke, Va./East Lake Hall (Fla.)) placed 164th in 29:58.75.

Freshman John Densmore (Bel Air, Md./C. Milton Wright) ran the course in 31:15.81 to finish 191st, and freshman Justin Marshall (Gaithersburg, Md./Watkins Mill) was 194th in 31:30.18.

Haverford placed four runners in the top five to capture the men's team championship. Haverford's J.B. Haglund won the individual title in a time of 24:58.65.

Elizabethtown finished second and will join Haverford at the NCAA Division III National Championships November 17 at Augustana College in Rock Island, Illinois.

Junior Inga Olsen (Thurmont, Md./Catoctin) was FSU's top female performer, finishing 90th out of 235 runners in 20:38.60.

Sophomore Beth Sauder (Oakland, Md./Southern Garrett) enjoyed a solid race, placing 113th in a personal-best time of 20:58.93.

Sophomore Katy Eads (West Point, Iowa/Central Lee) finished 161st in 21:52.76, sophomore Julie Hoffman (Parkton, Md./Parkton) placed 178th in 22:34.42 and junior Serena Wheeler (Baltimore, Md./Mergenthaler) was 235th in 34:56.19.

Moravian won the women's team championship by placing four runners in the top five, including individual champion Heidi Wolfsberger, who finished in 17:52.37.

Dickinson placed second and also qualified for the national championship meet.

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of Sports Information
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-4371
Fax: 301-687-4780