Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

Eighteen Bobcats Earn All-ACFC Honors

DOVER, DE — Eighteen members of the Frostburg State University football team have earned All-Atlantic Central Football Conference honors, including junior quarterback Grant Burrough (Bel Air, Md./C. Milton Wright), who was named the league's Offensive Player of the Year.

Head Coach Rubin Stevenson was voted the ACFC Coach of the Year after leading the Bobcats to a 6-5 overall record and a perfect 3-0 league mark.

FSU won its second ACFC title in four years, captured its third Regents Cup crown and advanced to the ECAC Southwest Championship for the sixth time in school history.

The Bobcats had a league-high nine players named to the All-ACFC first team. Burrough was selected as the league's top signal caller after setting 12 school records.

He established new single-season marks in completions (232), attempts (421), passing yards (3,041), touchdowns (26) and total yards (3,243), and he set single-game records for completions (35), attempts (65), passing yards (452), touchdowns (5) and total yards (458).

Burrough, who also became FSU's career leader in touchdown passes (44) and total yards (5,464), had four games with over 300 passing yards and was named the ACFC Offensive Player of the Week three times.

Joining Burrough on the top offensive unit are junior tight end Roy Olson (Lexington Park, Md./Great Mills), senior right tackle Chris Golliday (Frostburg, Md./Allegany) and sophomore left tackle Jared Toler (Sterling, Va./Broad Run).

Olson, who transferred from Ferrum (Va.) College, made an immediate impact in the Bobcat offense, snaring 44 passes for a team-high 825 yards. He tied for the team lead in both touchdown catches (8) and points (48) and averaged an impressive 18.8 yards per catch.

Golliday, who earned his second straight first-team honor, and Toler each started all 11 games and helped the Bobcats rank among the nation's top offenses, averaging 32.0 points and 432.5 yards per game.

FSU ran for 155.7 yards per game and scored 17 rushing touchdowns while also posting 276.7 passing yards per contest. The offensive line allowed just 11 sacks in 427 passing attempts.

Senior defensive linemen George O'Brien (Mt. Airy, Md./Linganore) and Ronald Luczak (Waldorf, Md./Thomas Stone) were named to the All-ACFC first team for the second year in a row, while sophomore defensive back Curan Oatts (Columbia, Md./Atholton) was a first-team selection for the first time.

O'Brien led the Bobcats with 89 tackles and tied for the ACFC lead with 9.5 sacks. He also tied for second on the FSU squad with 20 tackles for loss and added an interception, a pass break up, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery. He was one of just 15 Division III players to compete in the Second Annual East Coast All-Star Bowl.

Luczak tied for fifth on the team with 73 tackles, finished second with 8.0 sacks and tied for second with 20 tackles for loss. He added four pass break ups, an interception and a forced fumble.

Oatts recorded a team-high five interceptions, tied for the team lead with eight pass break ups, and added 49 tackles and a forced fumble.

Sophomore kicker Nick Quisgard (Baltimore, Md./John Carroll) and freshman punter John Wheaton (Clearwater, Fla./Osbourn Park (Va.)) were also voted to the first team.

Quisgard earned repeat honors after connecting on 24-of-26 extra point attempts and 4-of-8 field goal tries. He finished second on the squad in scoring with 36 points.

Wheaton enjoyed an impressive debut season, averaging 37.9 yards per punt and placing 19 kicks inside the opponent 20. He allowed just five touchbacks and four fair catches.

Nine more Bobcats earned second-team All-ACFC honors. Junior running back Edward Kearney (Bel Air, Md./Calvert Hall), senior wide receivers Tim Wilkins (Baltimore, Md./Mervo) and Aaron Deeb (Baltimore, Md./Rockville), senior lineman Matt Smith (Waldorf, Md./Thomas Stone) and junior lineman Jason Cutsail (Middletown, Md./Middletown) were named to the second offensive unit.

Kearney paced the FSU ground game with 881 yards and six touchdowns, caught 20 more passes for 149 yards and two more scores and tied for the team lead with 48 points.

Wilkins hauled in a team-high 56 passes for 617 yards and tied for the team lead in touchdown receptions (8) and points (48), while Deeb had 32 catches for 357 yards and two scores.

Smith, who started all 11 games, and Cutsail, who missed three games due to injury, helped the Bobcats average 32.0 points and 432.5 yards per game.

Senior defensive end Allen Jordan (Edgewood, Md./Edgewood), junior linebacker A.B. Wilson (La Vale, Md./Allegany) and junior defensive back Bryan Simms (Randallstown, Md./Milford Mill) were also voted to the second team.

Jordan, who played with O'Brien in the East Coast All-Star Bowl, recorded 67 tackles, including a team-high 21 for loss, and added seven pass break ups, six sacks, three fumble recoveries and two forced fumbles.

Wilson ranked second on the team with three interceptions, tied for second with seven pass break ups and finished third with 81 stops, including 12 for loss. He added 2.0 sacks, one blocked kick and one forced fumble.

Simms had 55 tackles, tied for the team lead with eight pass break ups and added two interceptions and a fumble recovery.

Junior Tim Pearson (Baltimore, Md./Lake Clifton) earned second-team honors as a kickoff return man, returning 13 kicks for 220 yards (16.9 average). He also rushed for 526 yards and four touchdowns.

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of Sports Information
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-4371
Fax: 301-687-4780