Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

English Department Hosts “Shakespeare Festival”

The English Department at Frostburg State University recently held its second annual Shakespeare Festival for students from Allegany, Beall, Fort Hill and Westmar high schools. The event, modeled after the festival at the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington, D.C., was coordinated by FSU English Professor Dr. Rochelle Smith.

For months prior to the festival, FSU students visited high schools and worked with students who were interested in performing scenes from Shakespeare. The college students helped the younger students understand the language and bring the poetry to life. FSU students included Jennifer Bonner, Allison Bornarth, Christie Clark, Sherry Hartman, Matthew Kane, Shea Marshall, Beth Nightengale, Allison Ottey, Celeste Perilla, Ellena Franchesca Simione, Kelly Thacker and Samantha Torrey.

All participating students met in FSU’s Performing Arts Center at the end of the semester to perform selected scenes, receive feedback on their performances and participate in Shakespeare-related activities. Scenes were performed from “Romeo and Juliet,” “A Midsummer Night’s Dream,” “Hamlet,” “Much Ado About Nothing,” “Julius Caesar,” “The Tempest,” “Macbeth” and “The Taming of the Shrew.”

Allegany High School students participating in this year’s festival included: Josh Barton, Josh Bernard, Kayla Bittinger, Morgan Boord, Katelyn Bucy, Phil Clements, Josh Courtney, Kelley Cristiano, Kari Cunningham, Stephanie Dolly, Michael Dowdell, Gary Drozda, Joanna Eastham, Donnie Ellsworth, Tasha Evans, Hunter Files, Jillian Gordon, Chris Herath, Tyler Kenney, Jestin Llewellyn, Courtney Love, Becky Matthews, Tamra Marshall, Melanie Martin, Julie Mizak, Tyler Mullan, Mike O’Leary, Kati Ruark, Jordyn Schry, Melissa Seib, Brett Showalter, Bethany Sine, Hannah Smith-Drelich, David Smith, Heather Stone and Brittany Straley.

Beall representatives were Adam Eshleman, Shane Hager, Sarah Nightengale, Mary Saylor, Devon Schlegel, Melissa Stevens, Wayne Thomas and William Wilhelm.

Fort Hill students participating were Sarah Cope, Ashley Dempsey, Devlin Godfrey, Angela Imbesi, Jatanna Iser, Brian Jeffries, Bobby Lyndamin, Jessica Nixon, Balir Rattenni, Justin Smith, Samantha Talbot, Jakela T. Watkins and Brittany Yonker.

Representing Westmar were Rebecca Alkire, Brandon Apple, Justin Barclay, Katie Barned, Dawn Beeman, Lauren Bennett, Teresa Boal, Tracey Clark, Tyler Clayton, Rae Michelle Fazenbaker, Kristen Gogh, Michael Gould, Brittany Harbaugh, Katie Harvey, Jacob Howe, Ashley Lane, Lacey Lee, Robert May, Liz Marple, Josh Marsh, Brittany McMahon, Laura Meese, Alex Metz, Jeremy Metz, Tara Morris, Nick Preston, Jeremy Raines, Aaron Shockey, Josh Wagner, Matt Williams, Katie Wolf, Andrew Young, Jordan Zais and Amanda Ziler.

Commentators included Dr. Mary Ann Chapman, Dr. Pat Coward, Dr. Sandy Eckard, Dr. Frank Parks, Dr. Keith Schlegel and Dr. Gerry Snelson.

Each participant was presented with a Shakespeare T-shirt.

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589