Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

Frostburg State University Foundation Inc. Welcomes Four New Members to Board

The Frostburg State University Foundation Inc. welcomed four new members to its Board of Directors: John Balch of Cumberland, Md.; Diane Carter-Richardson of Ellicott City, Md., Marion Leonard of LaVale, Md.; and Sandra Saville of Cumberland.

Balch, president of The Pharmacare Network in Cumberland, is president of the Western Maryland Health System Foundation Board and on the Advisory Board for Cardinal Health. He also serves in an advisory capacity to the University of Baltimore School of Pharmacy. Pharmacare established the J. Glenn Beall Memorial Scholarship, which provides a full, four-year scholarship to FSU for a student from Mountain Ridge High School each year.

Carter-Richardson graduated from FSU in 1980 with a degree in psychology and a Master of Business Administration degree in 1984. Diane is the founder of RCI Financial and former vice president of lending at Bank of America. She is also head women's basketball coach at Riverdale Baptist High School, her high school alma mater. She received the Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award from FSU in 1996.

Leonard is a retired professor from the MBA program in FSU’s College of Business. She is the owner of Inner Leadership Associates and serves as vice president of the Allegany Arts Council and member of the Board of Directors of the Community Trust Foundation (serving Allegany, Garrett and Mineral counties).

Saville was born in Cumberland and graduated from West Virginia University with a degree in journalism. She obtained her law degree from Georgetown University Law Center and was a trial lawyer in private practice in Anchorage, Alaska, for 28 years. In 2003 she moved back to Cumberland where she has renovated several downtown buildings and become involved in various non-profit organizations; she is treasurer for the Allegany Arts Council, vice president of the Evergreen Heritage Center Foundation, and a board member of the Western Maryland Hospital Foundation. She is also an active member of the Maryland Bar and teaches at FSU on an adjunct basis.

The Frostburg State University Foundation serves as the tax-exempt entity through which donors make charitable gifts to support a myriad of programs at the University. The Foundation is governed by the Board of Directors, who assume the fiduciary responsibility for the management of funds provided by donors.

The FSU Foundation has embarked on a $15 million comprehensive campaign, Staking Our Claim: The Campaign for Frostburg, supporting student enrichment, academic enrichment and regional and cultural enrichment. For more information or to make a gift, contact Bernard J. Davisson II, vice president for University Advancement and executive director of the FSUF at 301-687-4161, toll free at 1-866-241-3296, or visit

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589