Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

Frostburg State University Jazz Ensemble to Perform

Frostburg State University's Jazz Ensemble, under the direction of Jon Baumann, will appear in concert on Friday, Nov. 9, at 8 p.m. in the Performing Arts Center's Pealer Recital Hall.

The performance is free and open to the public.

Continuing its tradition of presenting diverse programs, the Ensemble will play big band music spanning the last 60 years. "Duke City Stomp," the opening selection, promises to get toes tapping, with solos from Stephanie Carroll on alto saxophone and Brent Paris on trombone. Next up is an easy swing tune, "How Sweet it Is," featuring singer Ilana Farjhad.

The contemporary composition, "Riverscape," highlights solos by Jeremy Calligan on piano and Carroll on soprano saxophone. "Please Don't Shoot the Trombone Players," is a rock tune featuring not only the entire trombone section, but also solos by trombonists Jonas Amoonarquah and George Jones. The first half closes with George Jones singing," The World's Shortest Blues."

The second half begins "In the Mood," the famous Glenn Miller hit tune, with solos by Erin Frankenberry on tenor saxophone, Carroll on alto saxophone and Stevyn Carmona on trumpet. The easy swinging "A Blues for Dave" includes solos by Laurence Bruner, trumpet, and Richard Castellano, alto saxophone. Samba livens things up next, with "Post," featuring Jon Bauman on trumpet, Alison Welborne on tenor saxophone, Brent Paris on trombone and Carmona on alto saxophone. Jon Bauman's new rock tune, "Charlie," closes the evening and features solos by Armoonarquah, trombone; Laurence Bruner, trumpet; Nathan Royer, bass and Chris McMahon, drums.

For information, contact the FSU Department of Music at (301) 687-4109. FSU is committed to making all of its programs, services and activities accessible to persons with disabilities. You may request accommodations through the ADA Compliance Office, (301) 687-4102, TDD (301) 687-7955.

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589