Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

Frostburg State University, President Gibralter Honored in Annapolis

Frostburg State University, President Gibralter Honored in Annapolis
The Maryland General Assembly recognized Frostburg State University on Wednesday, Feb. 13, for its many contributions to Western Maryland, the state of Maryland, and for being named a national College of Distinction for 2012-13.

FSU President Jonathan C. Gibralter was received on the floors of both the House and Senate, where proclamations were read commending Frostburg State for its commitment to academic excellence. Gibralter was accompanied to the State House by a delegation of FSU students, who were also welcomed from the floor. The proclamations were sponsored by members of the local delegation, Sen. George Edwards (R-1st), Del. Wendell Beitzel (R-1A), Del. Kevin Kelly (D-1B) and Del. LeRoy Myers Jr. (R-1C).

The FSU delegation was greeted by Senate President Thomas V. Mike Miller Jr. (D-27), who said of Frostburg and Gibralter, “It’s a great college. It was a fine college and you’ve made it a just a wonderful college. We’re very honored to have you here.”

Edwards introduced Gibralter and the students accompanying him to the Senate assembly, saying, “Dr. Gibralter has done a tremendous job since he’s been there. The University is moving forward and flourishing,” Edwards said.

In the House, Gibralter was welcomed to the General Assembly by Speaker of the House Michael Busch (D-30). Beitzel introduced Gibralter to his colleagues, saying the FSU president was being recognized “for his outstanding leadership of this outstanding Maryland institution of higher education.”

Colleges of Distinction are higher education institutions that excel in four key areas: student engagement, quality of teaching, vibrancy of the college community and success of graduates. FSU was selected for the strength of its first-year experience, including learning communities and themed residence halls, the quality of faculty, its students’ dedication to community service and sustainability and the clear direction presented in the University’s strategic plan.

Gibralter later addressed House and Senate sub-committees on FSU’s progress. His testimony can be read at

Web Address for More Information:

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589