Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

Frostburg State University’s Patrick O’Brien Presented With Spirit of Frostburg Award

Frostburg State University’s Patrick O’Brien Presented With Spirit of Frostburg Award
Frostburg Mayor Robert Flanigan, left, presents FSU Director of Student Engagement Patrick O’Brien with the Spirit of Frostburg award, which is artwork based on the Frostburg Bicentennial poster created by FSU faculty member Susan Dodge and featuring the Bicentennial Poem, written by local poet Nina Forsythe.

Frostburg State University Director of Civic Engagement Patrick O’Brien was honored with the Spirit of Frostburg Award during a recent Frostburg City Council meeting, in recognition of his ongoing efforts to strengthen the relationship between FSU students and the year-round residents of Frostburg.

“I often see Patrick O’Brien at City Place with new AmeriCorps members who are becoming acquainted with their new home for the next four years, supervising the annual book giveaway, or organizing Beautify the Burg as the head of a very diverse committee,” said Barbara Armstrong, who was head of the Frostburg Bicentennial Committee, from which the Spirit of Frostburg Award arose.

Following the celebration of the city’s bicentennial in 2012, remaining funds were invested by the Foundation for Frostburg to celebrate the 250th anniversary in 2062. A portion of the interest from that investment was also designated to serve as an award for individuals or groups that have upheld the Foundation for Frostburg’s mission of enhancing the quality of life for the citizens of Frostburg and the surrounding community.

Past FSU recipients included Chuck Dicken, WFWM station director, in 2013, and Dr. Bill Bingman and Dr. Barbara Ornstein of the Children’s Literature Center, in 2015.

For more information on FSU’s Office of Civic Engagement, visit For information about the Foundation for Frostburg, visit


For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589