Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

FSU Announces 2011-2012 President’s Leadership Circle

Frostburg State University congratulates the 2011-2012 President’s Leadership Circle, 12 students who were selected to participate in the third year of the President’s Leadership Circle (PLC) at FSU. This year’s PLC includes Mary Biscoe, Micayla Bowman, Marina Byerly, Sarah Kuhn, Lap Nguyen, Jonathan Shadel, Sharita Sivels, Eric Stinchcomb, Justin Ternent, Josh Volpe, Briana “Bobbie” Watson and Jonathan Williams.

Through this group, Frostburg State’s top senior leaders will steward relevant causes through their proven capabilities in the classroom and community. PLC students will work with FSU President Jonathan Gibralter and other FSU stakeholders for mentorship opportunities. In addition, PLC members will participate in the Sloop Institute for Excellence in Leadership in the spring and in an international experience.

Qualifications for PLC include 75 or more credit hours completed, a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0 and proven demonstration of leadership on campus.

Biscoe is president of the Student Government Association and Delta Zeta National Sorority. She has received many awards and recognitions along with participating in service projects and philanthropic activities.

Bowman is president of the Pre-Med Society, treasurer of Alpha Sigma Alpha sorority and a member of the Bobcat Ambassadors. She has served her community though numerous events such as Day of Caring and Sharing, Hooley Plunge, Relay for Life and many others.

Byerly currently serves as the editor-in-chief for The Bottom Line, FSU’s student newspaper. Byerly has worked as a Preview guide for the past three years at FSU where she welcomes incoming students with a positive attitude and relatable demeanor.

Kuhn is a member of the ECHOSTARS Program and serves as Student Program manager. She serves as president of Colleges Against Cancer and is co-coordinating the efforts of FSU’s annual Relay for Life.

Nguyen serves as the live-in academic mentor in Sowers Hall for the STEM program. He strives to be available to underclassmen interested in STEM fields and aims to promote these academic programs and produce more graduates.

Shadel is vice president of the 3AM Society, Frostburg’s creative writing club. He is a strong writer and very passionate about helping others and experiencing the world around him. He is also the vice president of the FSU Chinese Culture Club, promoting cross-cultural awareness.

Sivels is vice president of the Association of Leadership Development and Civic Engagement and has served FSU’s campus through her leadership as a resident advisor for Simpson Hall.

Stinchcomb is the treasurer of Phi Mu Delta fraternity and has held the Maryland State Senatorial Scholarship since 2008. He will join the Peace Corps next fall, where he is slated to be placed in Eastern Europe.

Ternent is a member of Alpha Phi Omega service fraternity. He has served as a Preview guide for three years, a residential peer mentor in Gray Hall one year and a resident assistant for another.

Volpe is the quarterback on FSU’s football team as well as a member of the Beta Gamma Sigma honor society. In addition to his commitment as an athlete and a scholar, he also finds time to help his community.

Watson is a member of Student and Community Involvement’s Social Marketing Team, Delta Zeta sorority and Beta Gamma Sigma honor society. She has earned numerous awards, including Academic Honor Scholarships (2008-2011), and has been on the Dean’s List (2008-2010).

Williams is the SGA treasurer and is interning at the Pentagon. He works in the FSU Foundation to find alumni to encourage scholarships, grants, building renovations and any other student needs.

For more information about PLC, contact Douglas Baer at 301-687-4210. -end-

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589