Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

FSU College of Business Hold Honors Reception

The Frostburg State University College of Business recently held its annual Honors Reception to honor selected students, faculty and staff. The reception took place at the end of the spring semester in the Leake Room of the Cordts Physical Education Building.

FSU President Dr. Catherine Gira accepted the NAVSEA Special Recognition Award to FSU.

Departmental Honors went to the following students: Brittney Decker, business administration; Carol Ingraham, MBA -Frederick; Amber Morgan, economics; Wayne Prescott, MBA - Frostburg; Austin Renschler, economics; Megan Stanton, accounting, and Anthony Woods, MBA -Hagerstown.

Winners of the Primevest Investment Challenge were: 1st place - Delta Alpha Beta Fraternity, Ryan Long, president; 2nd place - Kappa Zeta Chi Fraternity, Justin Tagg, president, and 3rd place - Chris Seguinot, economics and business administration major. The Allegany Chamber of Commerce Outstanding Business Student Awards went to Brigette Cosgrove, MBA; Carolyn Llewellyn, accounting; Amber Morgan, economics, and Linda Phillips, business administration.

Receiving the Washington County Board of Education Excellence in Education Awards were the following students from FSU's Hagerstown campus: Rick Kirkpatrick, MBA; David Leather, accounting; Lori Spessard, MBA, and Layla Watkins, business administration. Recognition of the 13th Season VITA Program Volunteers, who offer tax preparation assistance to the public, went to Brenda Browning, Doug Ellis, Kim Kearchner, Carolyn Llewellyn, Rick Medvitz, Kelly Saulpaw, Carleena Sines and Heidi Yoder. Site coordinators for the program were Connie Groer and Joyce Middleton, professors in the College of Business.

Other awards included the following: Baltimore Branch Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond Award - Andrea Meacham, economics; MACPA Outstanding Achievement in Accounting Award - Meredith Martin, accounting; Robert C. Burton Memorial Award for Departmental Service - Austin Rentschler, economics; Wall Street Journal Student Achievement Award - Brittney Decker, business administration; Sarfino and Rhoades Accounting Achievement Award and the FSU Accounting Association Achievement Award - Jason Bernard, accounting.

Recipients of the Frank and Margaret Farano Business Scholarship were: Jennifer Appel, economics; Kristen Gaubatz, business administration; Gary Gore, accounting; Felix Lebron, business administration and Michelle Molz, business administration.

Other scholarships included the following: Farmers and Mechanics National Bank Scholarship - John Stup, business administration; First United Bank & Trust Scholarship - Jason Bernard, accounting; Dr. Huma Shakil & Dr. M. Shakil Rahman Scholarship - Ashley Ommert, business administration; John C. "Jamie" Armor Memorial Scholarship - Ian Iliff, business administration; John R. and Phyllis Sell MacVeigh Scholarship - Melissa Herboldsheimer, accounting, and Enterprise Rent-A-Car Scholarship - Shane Vissman, business administration, and Nykidra Robinson, business administration.

Selected as FSU Commencement Speakers for the College of Business were Austin Rentschler, economics for May 2001 and Niki Rhoderick, business administration for December 2000.

FSU is committed to making all of its programs, services and activities accessible to persons with disabilities. You may request accommodations through the ADA Compliance Office, (301) 687-4102, TDD (301) 687-7955.***

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589