Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

FSU Foundation Presents 2010 Awards for Faculty Achievement

The 2010 Frostburg State University Foundation Awards for Faculty Achievement will be presented to three area residents at the Honors Convocation Friday, May 21, at 7:30 p.m., in the Pealer Recital Hall of the Performing Arts Center. Members of the community are invited to attend the convocation and the reception that follows.

In addition to the FSU Foundation faculty awards, Dr. Megan Bradley, an associate professor of psychology, will be recognized as the recipient of a 2010 Regents’ Faculty Award for Teaching. These faculty members serve as models for the evening’s stars: 34 graduating seniors receiving departmental honors, 12 master’s degree candidates awarded graduate program honors and 24 undergraduate students recognized for graduating with honors in general education.

Dr. Robert Kauffman, the recipient of the Faculty Achievement Award for Academic Accomplishment, joined the Recreation and Parks Management faculty in the College of Education in 1992. He has consistently distinguished himself with his many contributions to the field of recreation, especially in the areas of boating and safety. His publications include articles, book chapters, wall charts, educational videos and, most recently, a textbook titled “Career Development in Recreation, Parks and Tourism: A Positioning Approach.” Kauffman has been the recipient of many awards, including the 1999 FSU Foundation Faculty Achievement Award for University and Community Service and the President’s Award for Outstanding Service on the National Level from the American Canoeing Association. He is a two-time recipient of the Golden Quill Award from the American Camping Association for outstanding film and literary contributions to the field. In addition, he has received over 17 grants for a total of $904,000, and, in the past five years, has given presentations at 17 national or international conferences. He is past president of the Faculty Senate and presently serves as chair of his department.

Dr. Mary Mumper, associate professor of chemistry, is the recipient of a Faculty Achievement Award for University and Community Service. During her 14 years at FSU, one of her most notable activities has been her service as chair of the University Health Professions Advisory Committee. In this capacity, she advises pre-health students, works closely with students planning to apply to medical or dental schools and reviews scholarship applications. As a result, FSU students have a higher acceptance to professional schools than is true of any other school in the University System of Maryland. In her role as advisor to the Pre-Professional Medical Society, Mumper encourages students to serve, organizing blood drives and raising money for Relay for Life. In June 2009, FSU was awarded University of the Year by the Regional American Red Cross due to this work. Additionally, Mumper has been an FSU representative on the Council of University System Faculty, served as chair of the chemistry department, was a member of the Academic Standards Subcommittee and the FSU Strategic Planning Steering Committee and is chair of the Faculty Senate. Finally, Mumper serves the community through her work with the Frostburg House and Garden Club to beautify the City of Frostburg.

Dr. James C. Saku, professor of geography since 1996, is a recipient of the Faculty Achievement Award in University and Community Service. As advisor to Gamma Theta Upsilon, an international geography honor society, Saku encouraged students to participate in Earth Day/Focus Frostburg activities and organized a cleanup of the Piney Dam Reservoir. Saku also is a faculty mentor for the FSU Honors Undergraduate Research Opportunity Scholarship program and serves as a freshman ORIE instructor/advisor. His faculty governance service includes membership on the Faculty Concerns Committee, Graduate Council, University Undergraduate Curriculum Review Subcommittee, University Council on Retention and the Affirmative Action and Equal Opportunity Advisory Group. In fall 2007, Saku was appointed coordinator of the African American studies minor. During his tenure, he initiated a revision of the curriculum and invited several distinguished speakers to campus for presentations. Finally, Saku is active in the community, serving as financial secretary of the Knights of Columbus, Frostburg Council; a board member of the Frostburg Interfaith Food Pantry; and a soccer coach for the Frostburg Rangers American Youth Soccer Organization, Casselman Valley AYSO and Bishop Walsh Middle School JCP.

The Faculty Achievement Awards are sponsored by the alumni and friends of FSU through their generous contributions to the 2010 Annual Fund Campaign. Faculty members serving on the Faculty Development and Sabbatical Subcommittee of the Faculty Senate select the recipients. In addition to the respect of their colleagues, recipients receive a plaque and a cash award of $1,000. For more information on the FSU Foundation, call 301-687-4161 or visit

Situated in the mountains of Allegany County, Frostburg State University is one of the 13 institutions of the University System of Maryland. FSU is a comprehensive, residential regional university and serves as an educational and cultural center for Western Maryland. -end-

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589