Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

FSU Hagerstown Center Holds 11th Commencement

Frostburg State University's Center in Hagerstown will hold its 11th commencement at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, May 29th at the Maryland Theatre. Dr. Catherine R. Gira, FSU president, will confer both undergraduate and graduate degrees at the ceremony.

In addition to Dr. Gira, Frederick County Commissioner Ilona Hogan and student speaker Stacey Sparks will address the graduates.

Hogan has been a practicing attorney since 1974 and continues to serve as legal counsel with Salisbury & McLister. She teaches legal and local government policy courses for the National Emergency Training Center and other public and private entities throughout the United States.

Hogan was appointed to the 13-institution University System of Maryland Board of Regents by the Governor of Maryland and was elected its treasurer annually from 1988 to 1994. She currently serves on the Board of Advisors to Frostburg State University. Prior to that she served on the St. James (Hagerstown) Board of Trustees and was president of the St. John's (Frederick) School Board. She was a member of the Maryland Collaborative for Teacher Preparation and served on the Governor's Higher Education Transition Team and the Maryland Federal Judicial Selection Committee.

Hogan currently serves as liaison to the Frederick Community College Board of Trustees; Greater Frederick Development Corporation; Tourism Council of Frederick County, Inc.; Greater Washington Initiative Board of Trustees; Airport Commission; Board of Elections; Character Counts!; The Historical Society of Frederick County, Inc.; Frederick Arts Council, Inc.; Weinberg Center for the Arts; Metropolitan Development Policy Committee of the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments; Globalization Advisory Committee; Community and Economic Development Steering Committee; and she is former Chair of the Environment, Energy and Land Use Steering Committee of the National Association of Counties; Alternate to the Economic and Community Development Commission and the Board of Directors of the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments; and President of County Elected Women of Maryland.

She received a Bachelor of Arts degree from George Washington University and a Juris Doctor from Georgetown University. She is a member of the Maryland State Bar Association, the Frederick County Chamber of Commerce and the German-American Business Association. Her second term as County Commissioner expires on Nov. 30, 2002.

Sparks graduates from the Master of Arts in Teaching Program with a 4.0 cumulative GPA. She was ranked first in the class of 2001. Prior to entering the MAT program, Sparks received a Bachelor of Science in Mathematics, obtaining a 3.95 cumulative GPA.

Her past work experiences include jobs as an administrative assistant, a developer and customer support person for database/word processing interfaces, a project manager and a computer programmer/analyst. Sparks' role as a parent, Bible School teacher, choir director, Daisy leader and school volunteer prompted her to pursue a profession in education. Throughout her time at FSU's Hagerstown Center, she has demonstrated leadership and excellence as a developing teacher.

Presenting candidates for degrees will be Dr. Christine R. Grontkowski, Provost, and Dr. James Shaw, Director of the Hagerstown Center.

For more information on the FSU Hagerstown Center Commencement, call the Center at 301-791-4020.

FSU is committed to making all of its programs, services and activities accessible to persons with disabilities. You may request accommodations through the ADA Compliance Office at 301-687-4102, TDD 301-687-7955.

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589