Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

FSU Peer Education Network Receives Award at Regional Conference

FSU Peer Education Network Receives Award at Regional Conference
Members of FSU’s BURG Peer Education Network gather for a photo at the BACCHUS Region 12 conference.

Frostburg State University’s BURG Peer Education Network was named Outstanding Regional Affiliate at the annual BACCHUS Regional Conference held recently at Elon University in North Carolina. Don Swogger, director of FSU’s S.A.F.E. Office, was named Outstanding Advisor, and Shawn Golden Llewellyn, a 2001 graduate, was given the Outstanding Alumni award.

BURG’s bystander intervention program, Bthe1: Be the Difference, was selected to be presented to the conference and drew numerous positive responses.

Swogger and 22 students attended the conference. The students are Bobby Croft, Desiree Despertt, Odessa Dyer, Tristen Ferres, Samantha Hammett, Sheldon Jackson, Shayna Kramer, Bobby Lemaire, Nicole Mangold, Marina Matkovich, Samantha Metz, Tanisha Mitchell, Tyra Mitchell, Veronica Morris, Otega Okurume, Sonia Phuyel, Trevin Talley, Daniella Tcheussa, Maddy Toannon, Laura Walker, Makia Walker and Diana Whiteman.

The BURG Peer Education Network is a student organization whose members encourage healthy choices among their fellow students. For more information, contact the S.A.F.E. Office at 301-687-4761 or visit -end-

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589