Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

FSU President Appointed to Steering Committee for American College and University Presidents’ Climate Commitment

FSU President Appointed to Steering Committee for American College and University Presidents’ Climate Commitment

Continuing his commitment and leadership role as an advocate for sustainability in higher education, Frostburg State University President Jonathan Gibralter was recently appointed to the 2013-2014 Steering Committee for the American College and University Presidents’ Climate Commitment.

“I consider being involved with the ACUPCC one of the most important parts of my work, and I’m honored to continue working closely with them in emphasizing higher education’s role in addressing climate change,” Gibralter said. “Climate change is a defining challenge of our time, and I believe that higher education is leading the way in creating the needed educational, research and operational changes to fight it.” Gibralter was first appointed to the steering committee in 2011.

The ACUPCC Steering Committee is comprised of more than 20 university and college presidents and is staffed and supported by Second Nature, a Boston-based national nonprofit organization, with additional support provided by the Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education.

As part of his membership with the ACUPCC Steering Committee, Gibralter will be responsible for assuring the integrity, credibility and success of the ACUPCC and creating policy and direction for the organization. He also joins other committee members in serving as the “public face” of ACUPCC, providing assistance in fundraising efforts and participating in outreach to signatory and non-signatory presidents and presidential associations.

Recruiting new colleges and universities to join the ACUPCC is a particularly meaningful and impactful part of being on the steering committee, Gibralter said.

“Institutions have the power and the potential to make an impact that lasts for generations by educating and inspiring our students and supporting their advocacy, and collaborating with our communities. I’m proud to be a part of the ACUPCC’s advocacy in enlisting new members in higher education.”

The University’s relationship with the ACUPCC began in 2007, when FSU became a charter signatory institution. FSU submitted its Climate Action Plan in September 2009, part of the pledge it made to the ACUPCC, which will guide FSU to climate neutrality by 2030. As a collective effort of more than 680 institutions, representing more than 5.7 million students – about one-third of the nation’s college students – the ACUPCC serves as a vehicle for showcasing the leadership of the higher education sector. The ACUPCC has already gained extraordinary momentum in the academic community, with more than 682 signatories to date – and counting.

For more information about the ACUPCC, visit

To learn more about FSU’s focus on sustainability, visit or, or email


For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589