Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

FSU President Joins Leadership Circle in American College & University Presidents Climate Commitment

FSU President Joins Leadership Circle in American College & University Presidents Climate Commitment
Dr. Jonathan C. Gibralter, president of Frostburg State University, affirmed FSU’s efforts to position itself as an institution dedicated to fighting global warming when he recently joined the Leadership Circle of the American College & University Presidents Climate Commitment (ACUPCC).

ACUPCC is a national pact uniting higher education leaders in efforts to reduce and eventually eliminate their campus’ greenhouse gas emissions. Gibralter already signed ACUPCC’s climate commitment pledge at his inauguration April 18, making FSU accountable to a goal of being “climate neutral,” meaning it will reduce global warming emissions as much as possible and foster educational and research efforts to help society re-stabilize the earth’s climate. At his new level of commitment as a member of the Leadership Circle, Gibralter will be actively involved in leading the climate neutral initiative, promoting it and helping to recruit colleagues to join.

“I am very excited about what is happening and feel that we are doing something positive and productive for all the right reasons,” Gibralter said. “I want to believe we are at a crossroads in history and that we have chosen to take the correct fork in the road. Fighting global warming and doing more to promote environmental awareness are issues I am very passionate about and I am willing to be involved in any way possible.”

Gibralter will give a presentation about ACUPCC at an upcoming University System of Maryland Council of Presidents meeting. Following his signing of the “climate neutral” pledge, FSU has already established a Green Campus Task Force and is evaluating its current “carbon footprint” to identify a starting point.

In addition to committing to fighting global warming through campus-wide initiatives, the University is also using funds from a Maryland Energy Administration grant to study wind and solar energy as renewable sources of power, a project that calls upon the expertise of a variety of different disciplines and involves constructing a demonstration system with a 35-45 ft. wind turbine and photovoltaic solar panels to supply energy to the Fuller House on the FSU campus. FSU will also host a conference renewable energy in September—opportunities for research, dialogue and scholarship. FSU’s Student Sierra Coalition has implemented several recycling initiatives that supplement the University’s programs.

Under the guidance and direction of the Leadership Circle of presidents, the American College & University Presidents Climate Commitment is being supported and implemented by the Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education (AASHE), Second Nature and ecoAmerica. ACUPCC is inspired by the U.S. Mayors Climate Protection Agreement, the U.S. Climate Action Partnership and other collective efforts by state and businesses. To learn more about the initiative, visit

Situated in the mountains of Allegany County, Frostburg State University is one of the 13 institutions of the University System of Maryland. FSU is a comprehensive, residential regional university and serves as an educational and cultural center for Western Maryland.

For more information about FSU, contact the Office of Admissions at (301) 687-4201 or visit the University’s Web site at FSU is committed to making all of its programs, services, and activities accessible to persons with disabilities. You may request accommodations through the ADA Compliance Office at (301) 687-4102, TDD (301) 687-7955.

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589