Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

FSU President Profiled in Women of Achievement in Maryland History

Frostburg State University's President Catherine R. Gira has been featured in the newly published Women of Achievement in Maryland History (Anaconda Press, 2002), joining a diverse list of women that includes Rachel Carson, Emily Post and Clara Barton.

Former Frostburg State President Lillian Compton, credited with saving the college from closing in the 1940s, and the late Frostburg professor Alta Schrock, who established Penn Alps Inc., are also featured.

The biographies were divided into the categories of civil rights, education, community service, health and science, arts and culture, business and sports and law and public service. Gira and Compton were noted in the education category, and Schrock was in the community service category.

Some other honorees include Harriet Tubman, Eunice Kennedy Shriver, Lt. Gov. Kathleen Kennedy Townsend, victim's rights advocate Roberta Roper, Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton, author Anne Tyler, singer Toni Braxton, entertainer Kathie Lee Gifford, Olympic gymnast Dominique Dawes and Sen. Barbara Mikulski.

Gira was noted in the book for her ability to build consensus. Her biography states: "Gira's success and rapid rise to top leadership positions signify a commitment to higher education and a deep belief in recognizing individual merit. Said a colleague, 'Her presence and quality of leadership say every day that women belong in leadership positions.' "

For information or to purchase a book, call (301) 949-8996 or write to Women of Achievement, 12125A Veirs Mill Road, Silver Spring, MD 20906.

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589