Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

FSU President To Help Draft Maryland Climate Action Plan as Part of Involvement with Greenhouse Gas and Carbon Mitigation Working Group

Group Part of Gov. O’Malley’s Maryland Climate Change Commission

Dr. Jonathan C. Gibralter, president of Frostburg State University, reaffirmed his commitment to the fight against global warming when he was recently appointed to the Greenhouse Gas and Carbon Mitigation Working Group. The committee is one of three that make up the Maryland Climate Change Commission established by Gov. Martin O’Malley in April 2007, which also includes the Scientific and Technical Working Group and the Adaptation and Response Working Group. The three groups will work together to draft a Maryland Climate Action Plan.

“I am honored to have been appointed by Gov. O’Malley to this group,” Gibralter said. “Reducing greenhouse gas is the single most important thing we can do to protect our future. This diverse and deeply committed group will be on the fast track to assist with recommendations that will hopefully be presented during this year’s legislative session.”

As a member of the Greenhouse Gas and Carbon Mitigation Working Group, Gibralter joins state cabinet members and elected officials in a collaborative effort to provide formal actions and recommendations to the governor. Maryland’s key concerns in the face of global warming include rising coastal waters, a loss of aquatic life that impacts oysters, crabs and the bay ecosystem and the potential for extreme weather conditions.

The Maryland Climate Change Commission is chaired by the Maryland Department of the Environment. To learn more, visit

Situated in the mountains of Allegany County, Frostburg State University is one of the 13 institutions of the University System of Maryland. FSU is a comprehensive, residential regional university and serves as an educational and cultural center for Western Maryland. For more information about FSU, contact the Office of Admissions at (301) 687-4201 or visit the University’s Web site at

Web Address for More Information:

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589