Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

FSU Presidential Search Committee Identifies Four Candidates for On-Campus Visits and Interviews

The Frostburg State University Presidential Search Committee, appointed by University System of Maryland Chancellor William “Brit” Kirwan, has identified four candidates for on-campus interviews starting next week and concluding on March 15.

During their visits, candidates will participate in the following open meetings for targeted campus groups:

11 a.m. – noon (Staff)

2 p.m. – 3 p.m. (Students)

4 p.m. – 5 p.m. (Faculty)

6:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m. (Public reception in the Lane University Center Loft.)

The candidates and the dates of their visits are as follows:

March 5-7

Dr. Maravene Loeschke

Provost, Wilkes University


Previous positions: Towson University: Dean, College of Fine Arts and Communication; Chairperson, Department of Theatre Arts; Professor, Theatre Department.

PhD. The Union Institute

M. Ed. Towson University (Education)

B.S. Towson University (Theatre and English)

Open meetings to meet Dr. Loeschke will be held on Monday, March 6, in Lane University Center 201.

March 8-10

Dr. Jonathan Gibralter

President, State University of New York – Farmingdale

2001 – Present

Previous positions: Corning Community College: Interim President; Dean of Academic Affairs; Mohawk Valley Community College: Dean, Rome Campus; SUNY at Morrisville: Associate Dean, School of Liberal Arts; Director of Individual Studies.

PhD. Syracuse University (Human Development)

M.A. New York University (Counseling Psychology)

B.A. SUNY at Binghamton (Psychology)

Open meetings to meet Dr. Gibralter will be held on Thursday, March 9, in the Leake Room of the Cordts Physical Education Center.

March 12-14

Dr. Richard Rafes

Senior Vice President for Administration, University of North Texas


Previous positions: University of North Texas and University of North Texas System: General Counsel, Vice President, and Vice Chancellor; Texas State University System: General Counsel; Office of the Attorney General, State of Texas: Assistant Attorney General.

Ph.D. University of North Texas (Higher Education Administration)

J.D. University of Houston

B.A. Lamar University

Open meetings to meet Dr. Rafes will be held on Monday, March 13, in Lane University Center 201.

March 13-15

Dr. Timothy Flanagan

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

State University of New York – Brockport


Previous positions: Sam Houston State University: Dean, College of Criminal Justice;

SUNY-Albany: Associate Professor, Special Assistant to the President and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Associate Dean, Undergraduate Programs Director, Assistant Professor; Marshall University: Instructor.

Ph.D. SUNY at Albany (Criminal Justice)

M.A. SUNY at Albany (Criminal Justice)

B.A. Gannon University

Open meetings to meet Dr. Flanagan will be held on Tuesday, March 14, in the Leake Room of the Cordts Physical Education Center.

The national search for the next FSU president generated 110 applicants since the position was advertised this past fall. FSU President Dr. Catherine R. Gira will retire on June 30, 2006, after a 15-year tenure at Frostburg. Plans are for the new president to start on July 1, 2006.

The chair of the search committee is Thomas Bowling, Associate Vice President for Student and Educational Services at FSU. Also serving on the committee are Lisa Bennett, President, FSU Student Government Association; Andrea DePalatis, Chair, Historic Frostburg Committee; David Gillespie, Director, Library-Academic Affairs, FSU; William B. Grant, Chairman of the Board and CEO, First United Bank and Trust; Kevin Greig, Mail and Printing Services, FSU; Robert Heltzel, Chair, FSU Board of Visitors; Robert Kauffman, Director, Recreation and Parks Management, and Chair, Faculty Senate, FSU; Robert J. Larivee, Professor, Chemistry, FSU; Lawrence McKenzie, Chair, FSU Foundation Board; Richard W. Phoebus Sr., President and CEO, Hagerstown/Washington County Industrial Foundation; Mary Beth Pirolozzi, Executive Director, The United Ways of the Potomac Highlands and President, FSU Alumni Association; Richard Repac, Associate Vice President for Administration, FSU; Kim H. Rotruck, Assistant Professor of Education, FSU; Sheri Sensabaugh, President, ACT Personnel Services; Don Sincell, Editor and Publisher, The Republican newspaper; Sudhir Singh, Associate Professor of Marketing and Finance, FSU; and Karen Soderberg Sarnaker, Professor of Music, FSU. Thomas B. Finan Jr., a member of the USM Board of Regents and an independent business consultant, is the search committee’s liaison to the board. Anne Moultrie, USM associate vice chancellor for communications, is serving as the liaison to the Office of the Chancellor.

Copies of the candidates’ applications are on reserve in the Lewis J. Ort Library on the FSU campus.

Web Address for More Information:

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589