Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

FSU Professor Dr. Keramat Poorsoltan Selected as Fulbright Specialist, Named to Baldrige Panel

FSU Professor Dr. Keramat Poorsoltan Selected as Fulbright Specialist, Named to Baldrige Panel
Frostburg State University Professor of Management Dr. Keramat Poorsoltan has received two significant honors recently. He has been selected for a Fulbright Specialists project in Bahrain at Bahrain Institute for Banking and Finance during Summer 2010. Poorsoltan will conduct a number of workshops for young Bahraini students for the purpose of exploring new ideas and opportunities and turning them into new businesses.

In addition to receiving the Fulbright Specialists Award, Dr. Poorsoltan was invited to serve as a member of the 2010 volunteer Board of Examiners for the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. The Board of Examiners provides advice and guidance to the Baldrige Panel of Judges in selecting Baldrige Award recipients.

Poorsoltan is one of over 400 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad this year through the Fulbright Specialists Program. The Fulbright Specialists Program, created in 2000 to complement the traditional Fulbright Scholar Program, provides short-term academic opportunities (two to six weeks) to prominent U.S. faculty and professionals to support curricular and faculty development and institutional planning at post-secondary, academic institutions around the world.

The Fulbright Program, America’s flagship international educational exchange activity, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Over its 60 years of existence, thousands of U.S. faculty and professionals have taught, studied or conducted research abroad, and thousands of their counterparts from other countries have engaged in similar activities in the United States. Over 285,000 emerging leaders in their professional fields have received Fulbright awards, including individuals who later became heads of government, Nobel Prize winners and leaders in education, business, journalism, the arts and other fields.

The Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award is an annual award that recognizes U.S. organizations in the business, health care, education and nonprofit sectors for performance excellence. The Baldrige Award is the only formal recognition of the performance excellence of U.S. organizations given by the President of the United States. It is administered by the Baldrige National Quality Program, which is based at and managed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology, an agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce.

For more information, contact the FSU Department of Management at 301-687-4375 or log on to the departmental Web site at

Situated in the mountains of Allegany County, Frostburg State University is one of the 13 institutions of the University System of Maryland. FSU is a comprehensive, residential regional university and serves as an educational and cultural center for Western Maryland. -end-

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589