Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

FSU Students Honored with Friends of Music at Frostburg Leadership Award

FSU Students Honored with Friends of Music at Frostburg Leadership Award
From left, Ken Oldham; Charlene Beyerlein; Bernard J. Davisson II, FSU vice president for Advancement; Abbie Knight Vanderwest; FSU President Dr. Jonathan Gibralter; James Kyle Ritchey; and Dr. Joan DeVee Dixon, chair, FSU Dept. of Music
Three Frostburg State University students – Charlene Beyerlein, James Kyle Ritchey, and Abbie Knight Vanderwest – were honored with the Friends of Music at Frostburg Leadership Award this spring, granted to those students who have shown superior performance in leadership and service to the Department of Music at Frostburg State University.

Beyerlein, a pianist from Pasadena, Md., who graduated in May with a music major and a teaching certificate, was president of the collegiate chapter of the Music Educator’s National Conference, a charter member of the Friends of Music Steering Committee and served on the Student Gift Campaign Committee. She has performed with and conducted FSU’s University Chorale and Chamber Choir and has worked with diverse and underprivileged students in Cumberland and Anne Arundel County, and with the Salvation Army.

Ritchey, a music major from Pocomoke City, Md., with dual concentrations in vocal music and trombone, has held numerous offices in the collegiate chapter of the Music Educator’s National Conference and the Low Brass Society. He also tutors music theory, and his composition for an honors thesis class was selected to be the music department’s representation at the Dean’s Annual Student Colloquium. He plans to teach music.

Vanderwest, a music major and mathematics minor from Hollywood, Md., is an active member of the FSU Marching Band and a lifetime member of the Girl Scouts of America. She is also a member Sigma Alpha Iota, International Music Fraternity for Women and was Vacation Bible School Music Director at her church. Honors include the FSU Outstanding Educational Programming Efforts Award, Organization Division and membership in the Phi Eta Sigma honor society. Her goal is to become a teacher.

FMF Leadership Award recipients must have significantly contributed to a need that is above expectations, demonstrate a personal history of positively affecting other students and respecting all faculty, show high personal standards and ethics and maintain high academic and musical standards. In some cases, transforming leadership of an on-campus or off-campus organization or activity may be recognized.

The FMF Leadership Award is made possible through the financial support of FSU alumni Alison Combes and Craig Bowman. For more information about Friends of Music, which enhances and promotes student and professional musical performances at Frostburg State University, e-mail, or call the Office of University Advancement at 301-687-4161. -end-

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589