Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

FSU Students Inducted into National Social Work Honor Society

The Department of Social Work at Frostburg State University has announced the Fall 2001 initiates of the Epsilon Zeta Chapter of Phi Alpha, the national Social Work Honor Society. Initiated were the following students: Kathy Beals, Grantsville; Lisa Cairo, Bedford, Pa.; Erin Cheshire, Keyser, West Va.; Jessica Cooper, Accident; Kelly Lupton, Augusta, W. Va.; Kendra Popper, Smithsburg; Lisa Porter, Cumberland; Suzanne Strezelczyk, Scottsdale, Ariz.; Lois Swartzentruber, Oakland and Monica Wilson, Meyersdale, Pa.

Pam Kyle, current Phi Alpha member, and faculty advisor Dr. Kathleen Powell assisted with the initiation service on Dec. 22, 2001 as part of the department's graduate pinning ceremony. Dr. Joseph Hoffman, associate dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and Jodie Smith Ellsworth, MSW, FSU social work alumna, Phi Alpha member and now therapist with the Maryland Salem Children's Trust, addressed those gathered to celebrate the occasion.

To be eligible for membership in Phi Alpha, a student must have been accepted into the Social Work Program, achieved an overall grade point average of 3.0 and have a 3.25 grade point average in required social work courses.

Phi Alpha was established in 1960 through the efforts of undergraduate social work students at Michigan State University. Formed to provide a closer bond among students of social work and promote humanitarian goals and ideals, Phi Alpha fosters high standards of education for social workers and invites into membership those who have attained excellence in scholarship and achievement in social work. Today there are over 110 chapters in existence.

The Epsilon Zeta Chapter at Frostburg State University was established in 1995 to coincide with the professional accreditation of the undergraduate Social Work Program by the Council on Social Work Education. Since then, 60 FSU students have been inducted into the chapter.

For more information about FSU's Department of Social Work, contact Dr. Powell at (301) 687-4695 or,

Web Address for More Information:

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589