Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

FSU Women’s History Month Event Presents “Celebrating Women’s Leadership”

Frostburg State University will present “Celebrating Women’s Leadership” as part of its Women’s History Month on Thursday, March 27, at 6 p.m. in the Lane University Center Alice R. Manicur Assembly Hall.

Former Congresswoman Beverly Byron, who represented the 6th District of Maryland, and Jan Gardner, president of the Frederick County Commission and the president of the Maryland Association of Counties, will both offer comments about how women’s leadership has changed during their lifetimes. They then will be joined by other women leaders and researchers who focus on women's history for an interactive discussion about women’s past, current, and future leadership moderated by Dr. Elesha Ruminski, assistant professor of Communication Studies, co-coordinator of the Leadership Studies Minor and member of the Women’s Studies Steering Committee.

Byron, who resides in Frederick, was Western Maryland’s representative to Congress from 1978 to 1992 and was elected to seven consecutive terms. Upon leaving Congress, President George H.W. Bush appointed her a commissioner of the Defense Base Closure and Realignment Commission. She was also appointed by President Clinton to the Board of Visitors, U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, Md., which she chaired from 1998-2003 and by Gov. Parris Glendening to TEDCO in 2000, which she still chairs. Byron was awarded the President’s Medal by Johns Hopkins University and also received honorary degrees from Boston University, Mt. St. Mary’s College and Frostburg State University.

Gardner has been serving the citizens of Frederick as a County Commissioner for the past nine years. In 2008, she was appointed to the Task Force for the Future Growth and Development in Maryland, which addresses critical growth and development issues throughout the state. Gardner is best known for her support of public education, intelligent growth management, agricultural preservation and fiscal responsibility.

Other participants in “Celebrating Women’s Leadership” include Dawne Lindsey, Mary Beth Pirolozzi, Dr. Gregory Wood and Al Feldstein.

Lindsey, Allegany County Clerk of the Court since 2001, is president of the Allegany County Commission for Women and Maryland Clerk’s Association, is highly involved in volunteer work and has received an award for her outstanding civic service.

Pirolozzi is a Cumberland City councilwoman, executive director of Allegany County United Way and FSU alumna. She has an extensive knowledge of non-profit and community organizations and is involved at FSU where she serves on the Board of Directors for the FSU Foundation.

Wood is an assistant professor of history at FSU, and his specialties include social, labor, economic and gender history. He also coordinates the history internship program and serves as a member of the women’s studies steering committee.

Feldstein is a local historian and creator of the “Buttons of the Cause” collection. He has done extensive research on women’s history and has created an educational Web site entitled “Historic Women of Allegany County” that has been linked to several historical and women’s history Web sites including those at the Maryland State Archives and Maryland Women’s Heritage Center.

Several FSU female student leaders – Ashley Wisner; Erica Stevens; Sarah Nugent; Karlee F. Miranda and Whitney Young – will also be offering their perspectives during this interactive exchange. The discussion will be highlighted by YouTube clips of women leaders, Feldstein’s button collection and other artifacts from local women’s history. Following the discussion, students will have the opportunity for one-on-one networking with the participants.

This presentation is free and open to the public. The presentation is sponsored by the J. Glenn Beall Jr. Institute for Public Affairs, the Leadership Studies Minor program, Women's Studies Minor program, the Political Science Department, the History Department and the Communication Studies Department. For more information, contact Timothy Magrath, lecturer of political science and executive director of the J. Glenn Beall Jr. Institute for Public Affairs, at 301-687-4080 or; or Ruminski at 301-687-4480 or

FSU is committed to making all of its programs, services and activities accessible to persons with disabilities. To request accommodations through the ADA Compliance Office, call 301-687-4102 or use a Voice Relay Operator at 1-800-735-2258.

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589