Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

Men's Soccer Picked to Finish Fifth in AMCC

GIBSONIA, PA — Frostburg State has been picked to finish fifth in the Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference this fall according to a vote among the league’s 10 head coaches.

Medaille, the defending league champion, is picked to win the conference while Lake Erie is second and Penn State Behrend is third.

The Bobcats look to rebound after a disappointing 2005 season in which FSU finished 9-10 overall and 6-3 in the AMCC. In the conference quarterfinals, FSU scored the game-winning goal in the 90th minute to down Penn State Behrend, 2-1. In the semifinals, Frostburg State fell to Medaille, 1-0, in double overtime.

Fifth-year head coach Keith Byrnes has led the Bobcats to a 38-34-6 record (19-10-1 AMCC), one AMCC Tournament championship match (2003) and one ECAC Tournament appearance (2003).

Junior midfield Kenny Dotter (Baltimore, Md./Sparrows Point) earned first-team All-AMCC honors last season and returns as the Bobcats leader in goals (5), assists (3) and points (13). Sophomore defender Adam Gracia (Rockville, Md./Wooton) was a second-team all-conference selection after starting all 19 games while classmate Gregg Laskow (Plainsboro, N.J./WWP-North), an honorable-mention all-conference player last fall, returns to the Bobcats after scoring three goals and adding two assists.

Cory Cwiklinski is the Preseason Player of the Year and is expected to lead Medaille to its second-straight title after the Mavericks won their first crown in 2005.

The AMCC, celebrating its tenth anniversary, kicks off conference play Saturday, September 23. The conference championship will be Saturday, November 4 at the highest remaining seed. The winner will receive the AMCC's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

(2005 overall and AMCC records in parantheses)
1. Medaille (18-2-2, 8-0-1)
2. Lake Erie (10-8-2, 7-2)
3. Penn State Behrend (114-3-4, 7-0-2)
4. Penn State Altoona (12-7, 6-3)
5. Frostburg State (9-10, 6-3)
6. La Roche (7-11-2, 4-5)
7. Pitt-Greensburg (3-11, 2-7)
8. Hilbert (3-11, 2-7)
9. Pitt-Bradford (4-14, 3-6)
10. Mount Aloysius (0-17, 0-9)

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of Sports Information
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-4371
Fax: 301-687-4780