Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

Mumper Given FSU President’s Distinguished Faculty Award

Mumper Given FSU President’s Distinguished Faculty Award
Dr. Jonathan Gibralter, FSU president, recognizes Dr. Mary Mumper during the 142nd Frostburg State University Commencement on May 18.

Dr. Mary Mumper, a professor of chemistry at Frostburg State University, has received the President’s Distinguished Faculty Award from FSU President Jonathan Gibralter, an award he established to recognize and encourage those faculty members whose activities move FSU forward by advancing the University’s mission and goals and its strategic planning initiatives.

Mumper received a monetary award, a medallion and plaque and was recognized during the University’s spring commencement ceremony.

“I have been most grateful for Dr. Mumper’s leadership and counsel, especially during her four years as Chair of the Faculty,” Gibralter said. “Dr. Mumper’s commitment to students is evident not only in how she guides those students who come through her classes, but in her dedication to helping students make a successful transition into college, identify their strengths as they are deciding which path to take in the world, and prepare for their next steps on their way to their chosen profession.”

A member of the FSU faculty since 1997, Mumper had two previous careers, first in elementary teaching and later in interior design. A class in organic chemistry was the catalyst to her academic career.

As a teacher, she is known for the combination of high expectations and high levels of support, principles she applies to her first-year students in the Professional Medicine Learning Community as well as to her advanced students in Organic Chemistry and those planning to go on to advanced education in the medical professions. As a result, those pre-professional students are so well-prepared for the rigorous professional school admission process that FSU now has an enviable acceptance rate of these students into medical, dental, pharmacy and veterinary schools, which has enhanced the reputation of Frostburg and its graduates among these institutions.

Beyond the classroom, she contributes to leadership development through her advising of the Pre-Professional Medical Society, a group that regularly organizes on-campus blood drives. Her example, spending hours each year baking pies to benefit FSU’s annual Relay for Life in support of the American Cancer Society, inspires the group’s Relay team, “What’s Up Docs,” to consistently lead in fundraising among the student and employee groups at FSU’s largest annual volunteer event.

She has taken on numerous leadership roles at FSU, in particular as Chair of the Faculty and chair of her department, serving with the needs of the University as a whole in the forefront.

“Every educator hopes to make a difference in the lives of students; Dr. Mumper has more than achieved this goal,” said Dr. Tom Bowling, vice president for Student and Educational Services in his letter of nomination. “It is also important to bring attention to the manner in which she has worked – with integrity, and with respect for her colleagues and her students.”

The President’s Distinguished Faculty Award is supported by gifts to the FSU Foundation. For more information, call 301-687-4161 or visit

Situated in the mountains of Allegany County, Frostburg State University is one of the 12 institutions of the University System of Maryland. FSU is a comprehensive, residential regional university and serves as an educational and cultural center for Western Maryland. For more information, visit or Follow FSU on Twitter @frostburgstate.

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589