Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

Nine Bobcats Earn All-AMCC Honors

PITTSBURGH — Nine members of the Frostburg State men's and women's cross country teams have been named to the All-Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Team.

Five Bobcat men took home All-AMCC honors, led by sophomore Ed May (Bryantown, Md./La Plata), who was named the AMCC Men's Runner of the Year after winning the individual title at last the AMCC Championship meet November 1.

May ran the 8,000-meter course in 28:24.0. As a freshman last season, he finished third (28:41) and earned AMCC Newcomer of the Year honors.

Joining May on the All-AMCC Team are juniors Mike Replogle (Union Bridge, Md./Francis Scott Key) and Brian Bonn (Glen Burnie, Md./Glen Burnie), sophomore Sid Bittinger (Midland, Md./Westmar) and senior Kevyn Allgeier (Bel Air, Md./C. Milton Wright).

Replogle posted a runner-up finish at the AMCC Championships for the second year in a row, posting a time of 28:38.0, while Bonn finished third in 28:35.5, overtaking three runners in the final mile to gain valuable team points.

Bittinger placed sixth with a time of 28:55.0, and Allgeier was ninth in 29:16.0.

Frostburg State head coach Randy Lowe was named the AMCC Men's Cross Country Coach of the Year for the third year in a row after guiding the Bobcat men to their third straight conference title and their sixth crown in the league's seven-year existence.

Penn State Behrend freshman Brad Ruffo was named the AMCC Men's Newcomer of the Year.

Four FSU runners were named to the All-AMCC Women's Team.

Senior Beth Sauder (Oakland, Md./Southern Garrett) was earned her fourth straight honor and was joined by sophomore Carolyn Kilkus (Rockville, Md./Richard Montgomery) and freshmen Bonnie Axman (Burke, Va./James Robinson) and freshman Sheila Kurtz (Thurmont, Md./Boonsboro).

Sauder won the women's individual title in 25:35, while Kilkus finished third in 26:29. Axman placed fourth (26:52), Kurtz finished sixth (27:21) and Carlquist was 17th (29:48) in the 42-runner field.

Penn State Behrend swept all three women's individual honors. Senior Jessica Knapp was named the AMCC Runner of the Year, freshman Leslie Gentile was selected the Newcomer of the Year and Dave Cooper was voted the Coach of the Year.

Both the Bobcat men's and women's teams return to action in the NCAA Division III Mid-East Regional Championships Saturday, November 15 at Dickinson College in Carlisle, Pa.

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of Sports Information
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-4371
Fax: 301-687-4780