Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

Third Annual FSU Environmental Photography Contest Under Way

Entries are now being accepted for the third annual Environmental Photography Contest held by the Environmental Planning and Land Management Institute of Frostburg State University (a joint venture between the FSU Department of Geography and the Maryland Bureau of Mines, MDE).

Any amateur photographer over the age of 11 years old who lives, attends school or works in either Allegany or Garrett County is eligible to enter. No professional photographers allowed. The photographs should be environmental or natural habitat scenes of either Allegany or Garrett County that depict an interpretation of the natural environment that defines the beauty and richness of these counties. To enter, submit one to three 8” x 10” photographs, either black and white or in color, to the FSU Department of Geography, Room 201 Gunter Hall or the Maryland Bureau of Mines, Room 309 Dunkle Hall, Frostburg State University, 101 Braddock Road, Frostburg, MD 21532.

This year, prizes will be a combination of cash, merchandise and gift certificates. The deadline for all photos is 4 p.m. on April 5. The photographs that receive a "finalist" award will be on display at the FSU Ort Library from Monday, April 17, to Friday, April 28. The award ceremony to recognize the top four finalists (first, second, third places, and honorable mention) will be held on Thursday, April 20, at 5 p.m. in the FSU Compton Science Center atrium.

The 2005 contest was sponsored by The Maryland Coal Association, Mettiki Coal LLC, Leasure Photography Studios, Duncan’s Photo, Clark’s Camera Gallery, Olan Mills Portrait Studios (LaVale), AES Warrior Run Inc., Chris Studios, Photography by Jeannine, Bernie’s Photography, Wal-Mart Photography studio and the FSU Department of Geography & the Maryland Bureau of Mines. Judges for the 2006 contest will be Al Feldstein, Stan Eisel, John Carey, Adrienne Ottaviani and Md. Del. George Edwards.

For further information or to pick up entry forms, call (301) 687-4267 or (301) 687-4721. Entry forms and additional information are also available on the Web at www.Frostburg.Edu/Dept/Geog/Einstitute.

FSU is committed to making all of its programs, services and activities accessible to persons with disabilities. To request accommodations through the ADA Compliance Office, call (301) 687-4102, TDD (301) 687-7955.

Web Address for More Information: http://www.Frostburg.Edu/Dept/Geog/Einstitute

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589