Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

Three Candidates Advance in Search for New FSU President

The Frostburg State University Presidential Search and Screening Committee has advanced the names of three candidates to University System of Maryland Chancellor William "Brit" Kirwan for consideration as the next president of FSU.

The recommended candidates (in alphabetical order) are Dr. Timothy Flanagan, provost and vice president for academic affairs, State University of New York – Brockport; Dr. Jonathan Gibralter, president, State University of New York – Farmingdale; and Dr. Maravene Loeschke, provost, Wilkes University.

Over the past two weeks, the Committee and the FSU community at large had the opportunity to interview four presidential candidates in open meetings. Campus members evaluated the candidates' strengths and limitations. Those evaluations were reviewed by the Search and Screening Committee, and the top three individuals' names were selected and forwarded to the USM Chancellor, per his request. From there, Kirwan and members of the USM Board of Regents will interview the candidates and make the final selection. An announcement of FSU's next president is tentatively planned for April.

The national search for the next FSU president generated 110 applications since the position was advertised this past fall. FSU President Dr. Catherine R. Gira will retire on June 30, 2006, after a 15-year tenure at Frostburg. Plans are for the new president to start on July 1.

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589