Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

Three Employees Honored With Staff Awards for Excellence at FSU Convocation

Three Employees Honored With Staff Awards for Excellence at FSU Convocation
From left, FSU President Dr. Ronald Nowaczyk with Staff Award winners Sandra Rohrbaugh, Lynn Ketterman and Jason “Jay” Howard

Frostburg State University honored three outstanding employees, Lynn Ketterman, Sandra Rohrbaugh and Jason “Jay” Howard, at its recent Fall Convocation. The annual Staff Awards for Excellence recognize exceptional service to the institution. Recipients are nominated and chosen by their colleagues. This year’s award winners have served FSU for a combined total of 70 years.

Ketterman, from University Advancement, was honored in the Exempt (salaried) employee category. She started working at FSU in a contingent position with Alumni Affairs in 1995, and after various part-time roles over seven years, assumed her current role as a prospect research analyst in 2008. Ketterman has developed relationships with alumni to turn them not only into donors but also into mentors. For students, she provides networking opportunities with alumni that help to open doors to potential employment and internships. Her contributions continue into her personal life as well. Taking on a mother-away-from-home role for the students of Phi Mu Delta, she offers advice, career assistance, resume critiques, home-cooked meals and an open ear. According to her nomination letter, “Lynn Ketterman acts each and every day with the success of our students in her thoughts, words and actions.”

Rohrbaugh, executive administrative assistant in the President’s Office, won the award in the Nonexempt Employee category. An employee at FSU for 44 years who has worked for five presidents, she is the friendly face who greets each visitor to the President’s Office, ensuring that that person feels welcome – whether he or she is an important state representative, a student or just someone lost in the Hitchins Administration Building. Rohrbaugh is one of those people who is asked to do much more than her job description indicates, always busy behind the scenes. Knowledgeable and competent, she constantly deals with requests for information. She is completely devoted to FSU and always helpful to new employees learning their way.

Howard was recognized in the Nonexempt Employee/Facilities/Maintenance category. A carpenter in FSU’s Physical Plant for almost six years, he provides the highest level of craftsmanship, with a keen eye for detail as well as a commitment to fiscal responsibility. Howard brings to each project a willingness to communicate and work through the details with the project’s user. Outside of the workplace, he has volunteered countless hours coaching Pee Wee football, specifically for the Frostburg Cougar organization, where he has coached for 12 years. In addition, Howard is a member and active volunteer at the Mount Savage United Methodist Church, doing repairs and building props for church services.

Award recipients are given a plaque, a certificate commemorating their dedication and a monetary award. Staff Awards for Excellence are funded by the FSU Foundation’s Annual Fund Campaign.

For more information, contact the FSU Office of Human Resources at 301-687-4105.


For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589