Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

Volleyball Defeats Penn State Altoona to Win AMCC Tournament

FROSTBURG, MD - Frostburg State won its sixth Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference volleyball championship in the last seven years as it defeated Penn State Altoona 3-0 on Saturday afternoon at Bobcat Arena. The Bobcats, who are currently ranked fifth in the Mid-Atlantic region of the NCAA Division III polls, played a tough Penn State Altoona team that as the three seed upset second-seeded Penn State Behrend in the semi-finals.

In the first game, the Bobcats (30-3) gained an early 6-3 advantage behind the serving of sophomore Carly McDonald (Northern/Owings, Md.). However, the Lions (12-16) powered their way to a 13-11 lead mid-way through the game.

Down 13-11, junior Carrie Ness (Francis Scott Key/Taneytown, Md.) served the Bobcats to a 15-13 lead that they would never relinquish, as they closed out the first game 30-20.

In the second game, the Bobcats once again found themselves behind, trailing 15-13. However, freshman setter Amanda Hernandez (Arundel/Crofton, Md.) served the FSU to an 18-15 advantage en route to a 30-25 win.

In the final game, FSU jumped out to a dominating 18-8 lead and wrapped up the title with a 30-19 win.

On the afternoon, the Bobcats were led by junior Lauren Petrick (North Caroline/Denton, Md.), who had a team-high 13 kills, three service aces and two blocks, along with 13 digs. Junior Sam Seyfferth (Broadneck/Annapolis, Md.) recorded a team-high 23 digs and junior Ness added 21 assists and 14 digs.

Senior Kelli Bumgarner (Calvert/Chesapeake Beach, Md.) recorded 10 kills, six digs and two assists in her final home game at Frostburg State University.

“I am very proud of our team, we accomplished all of our regular-season and conference goals,” said Head Coach Jeff Billington. “Now we have to see if we continue our success nationally at the NCAA Division III Tournament.”

Following the match, Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Commissioner Donna Ledwin presented the All-AMCC first, second and honorable mention team selections, along with the Newcomer of the Year, Coach of the Year and Player of the Year awards.

First Team All-AMCC: Danielle Bemis, Penn State Behrend; Amanda Gressley, Pitt-Bradford; Lauren Petrick, Frostburg State University; Megan Snyder, La Roche; Missy Wahlberg, Pitt-Bradford; Carrie Ness, Frostburg State University

Second Team All-AMCC: Angelica Carr, Pitt-Greensburg; Trisha Adams, Penn State Behrend; Amanda Evans, Penn State Behrend; Erin Monn, Penn State Altoona; Kelley Johnson, Penn State Altoona; Jodi Carpenter, Frostburg State University

Honorable Mention Team All-AMCC: Emilee Bedillion, La Roche; Ashley Ordy, Penn State Behrend; Lindsay McGuirk, Penn State Altoona; Nikki Spindler, Pitt-Bradford; Crystal Dutton, Pitt-Bradford; Sam Seyfferth, Frostburg State University

Newcomer of the Year: Rae Ann Sherred, Penn State Behrend
Coach of the Year: Jeff Billington, Frostburg State University
Player of the Year: Lauren Petrick, Frostburg State University

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of Sports Information
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-4371
Fax: 301-687-4780