Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

Women's Soccer Names 2005 Award Winners

FROSTBURG, MD - The Frostburg State women's soccer program announced its award winners for the 2005 season at its annual team banquet held Sunday, December 11 at Failinger's Hotel Gunter in Frostburg.

Junior Danielle Carter (Rockville, Md./Rockville) was named the team's Offensive Most Valuable Player. Carter was named the Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Player of the Year as well as a first-team All-AMCC selection. She finished the season leading the Bobcats with 11 goals and 23 points. Carter has now moved into third place all-time with 45 career goals.

Senior Teri Galt (Silver Spring, Md./Good Counsel) took home Defensive Most Valuable Player honors. Galt, who was a team captain, was named to the All-AMCC second-team this season, making it four straight seasons being named to the All-AMCC teams. She helped anchor a strong FSU defense which held opponents to a school-record 0.63 goals allowed a game.

Senior Beth Hlebasko (New Market, Md./Linganore) was named the Scholar Athlete by her teammates. Hlebasko was named to the ESPN/CoSIDA Regional First Team for her accomplishments both on and off the field. She carries a 3.713 cumulative grade point average in early childhood/elementary education. Hlebasko was named to the All-AMCC first-team for the third straight season and is the career assist leader with 33.

Sophomore goalkeeper Molly Whyte (Basking Ridge, N.J./Ridge) won the team's Most Improved Player Award after setting a Frostburg State record with a 0.65 goals against average and 10 shutouts. Whyte had a streak during the season of five consecutive games without allowing a goal, also a school-record. She was named to the All-AMCC second team after taking over the #1 goalkeeper position this season.

Senior Shera Rowan (Frostburg, Md./Bishop Walsh) was named FSU's Unsung Hero. She started all 20 games this season after transitioning to the midfield after three seasons as a forward. Rowan scored one goal and added one assist out of the midfield.

Junior transfer Lindsay Hoffman (Frederick, Md./Thomas Johnson (ETSU)) was named the Best Offensive New Player. Hoffman finished the season second on the team with six goals, five assists and 17 points. She started all 20 games for the Bobcats after transferring from Division I East Tennessee State.

Freshman Tori Walter (Frederick., Md./Frederick) took home Best Defensive New Player this year. Walter, who was converted to a defender this season, started all 20 games as the center back. She scored one goal and added one assist on the season.

The Bobcats as a team picked up another award as they were given the National Soccer Coaches Association of America Team Academic Award for the 2004-05 school year. Frostburg State qualified for this award by having a team cumulative GPA of 3.26.

Frostburg State finished 12-6-2 overall and 8-0-1 in the AMCC. The Bobcats won their fifth straight AMCC Tournament title and earned a fifth consecutive berth in the NCAA Tournament. FSU fell to eventual national quarterfinalist Denison 2-0 in the first round of the NCAA Tournament.

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of Sports Information
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-4371
Fax: 301-687-4780