A Memo From the President

Dear FSU Community –

Dr. Jonathan Gibralter FSU President
Dr. Jonathan Gibralter

As you are all aware, there have been many discussions over the past several months about Frostburg State University becoming a smoke-free campus. This discussion has been debated within open forums, at Faculty Senate and Student Government Association meetings, and with our colleagues in the University of Maryland system.

To continue our momentum in becoming a leader for college health and wellness, I am pleased to report that Frostburg State University will be a smoke-free campus beginning August 1, 2011.

As you can see, the emphasis of this program is centered upon public health and personal responsibility. Frostburg State University recognizes the health problems associated with smoking and second-hand smoke, and we wish to provide the healthiest environment possible for our students, faculty, staff, alumni and visitors.

We communicated this message with our incoming freshmen and their families at Preview FSU in June. Our response from our new Bobcat families echoes many of your sentiments: an appreciation for making our campus a healthier place to work and learn.

We are aware that this presents a new set of circumstances for some members of our campus community. Brady Health Center, with the support of CHILL, will continue to provide smoking cessation materials for our students. Our Office of Human Resources has also gathered invaluable information for our faculty and staff who wish to quit smoking, and avenues are being pursued to fund smoking cessation materials for those employees.

Our goal in all of this is to foster a more healthy community for all of us. This effort was sparked and built off of the concerns raised by our students and staff, and we are happy to present to our campus the fruits of their labor. Thank you to Dr. Mary Mumper, chair of the Faculty Senate; Dr. Art Siemann, chair of the Department of Health and Physical Education; Bernard Wynder, assistant vice president for Student and Educational Services; April Baer, coordinator for University Wellness; and students Lap Nguyen and April McDavid for their efforts to address this concern.

We appreciate your support and compliance with the new policy.

Jonathan Gibralter, President