Stars of Excellence

Stars of Excellence Winners
Wednesday, August 31, 2022, Fraternity and Sorority Life celebrated their accomplishments and each other at the Stars of Excellence Program. Photo credit/Zaria Holmes

The Stars of Excellence Awards was established in 2007 and was based on the national standards of all organizations and the university expectations of each chapter. The expectations cover intellectual and social development, personal health and moral values growth, organizational responsibility, proper risk management, scholarship, community and philanthropic service monetary donations, and chapter programming. All of the awards are based upon documentation of events during the academic calendar year.

To remain in good standing with the Office of Student Activities and Fraternity and Sorority Life, each chapter is required to maintain 80% in all aspects of the university and national guidelines, they are; Chapter Management, Risk Management, Fundraising, Scholarship, Community and Philanthropic Service, Membership Development, and Community Development.

Awards are presented to a chapter or chapters who have excelled in each category (80% or higher) based upon the documentation compiled over the past year. Only the first-place winner will receive a trophy.  All second and third-place finalists will receive a certificate.  For some awards, there may be a tie in the final tally and there may be no winners or only one winner in a category. In the end, the chapters that were at 90% or above before bonus points were calculated will receive the Chapter Excellence Award. For a chapter to win Chapter of the Year, they must be in good standing with the university and in each category area.

Chapter of the Year: Kappa Delta Rho

Advisor of the Year:  Sarah Haddaway (Sigma Alpha Epsilon Advisor)

Pillar Award: Zach Arnold (Kappa Delta Rho)

Flame Award:  Jacob Stocker (Phi Sigma Pi and Pi Lambda Phi)

Chapter Excellence: Alpha Sigma Alpha, Delta Zeta, Phi Sigma Pi, Pi Lambda Phi, Zeta Phi Beta, Kappa Delta Rho, Alpha Phi Omega, Phi Mu Delta, Delta Sigma Theta, Iota Phi Theta, Alpha Sigma Tau

Chapter Management Excellence: Kappa Delta Rho

Risk Management Excellence: Kappa Delta Rho

Scholarship Excellence: Delta Zeta

Fundraising Excellence: Kappa Delta Rho

Membership Development: Delta Sigma Theta, Sorority Inc.

Community Service Excellence: Pi Lambda Phi

Community Relations Excellence:  Alpha Sigma Alpha


New Fraternity and Sorority Life Council Board

President: Alonso Miguel (Phi Mu Delta)

VP of Programming: Evie Shanholtz (Delta Zeta)

VP of Administration and Standards:  Ayden Roberts (Alpha Phi Omega and Kappa Delta Rho)

VP of Standards: Alique Collins (Pi Lambda Phi)


Contact Fraternity and Sorority Life

Jamie Winters

Jamie Winters
Assistant Director, Organizations and Community Programming

Frostburg State University
Office of Student Life
101 Braddock Road
209 Lane University Center
Frostburg, MD 21532
Phone: 301-687-7398
Fax: 301-687-7049


FSU on instagram