Department of Political Science

Majors  Students

Students at the Washington Model Organization of American States.  The Model takes place at OAS Headquarters in Washington D.C. every Spring and the FSU delegation represents a country from the Hemisphere and visits the its mission to the OAS.

Welcome to the Department of Political Science at Frostburg State University!

Please explore our site to learn about our program, faculty, unique opportunities, alumni, and student clubs and activities. We encourage our majors to take advantage of the myriad of opportunities they have to build their resumes, make friends, contribute to the campus community, and explore career paths.

What Can You Do With Your Political Science Degree?


Academically, the Department of Political Science offers a broad program through which students develop an understanding of the theory, institutions and processes associated with politics as practiced in the United States, in other nations, and among nations.  Students are encouraged to learn not only about the substance of politics, but also to develop skills in writing, analysis, research, and quantitative methods.

We offer a wide range of courses in five subfields: American political institutions, comparative politics, international relations, public administration and policy, and political theory.  This strong academic grounding has allowed our majors to enter a wide range of careers from Capitol Hill staffers to graduate and law school to positions in communications.

The Political Science faculty is committed to excellence and innovation in teaching.  Smaller class sizes permit extensive student discussion and participation. Students have frequent opportunities for contact and consultation with faculty outside of class.

If you have further questions about the Political Science program, please send an e-mail to the Department Chair, John O'Rorke at

Programs Offered by the Department


Office of Admissions
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD 21532-2303

Dr. John O'Rorke
Chair, Department of Political Science
301 687 4277