COVID-19 Updates and Information

Department of Political Science

Set of student images

Welcome to the Department of Political Science at Frostburg State University. We are glad that you are visiting and encourage you to get more information about our department by browsing through our web pages.

The Department of Political Science offers a broad program through which students develop an understanding of the theory, institutions and processes associated with politics as practiced in the United States, in other nations, and between nations. Students are encouraged to learn not only about the substance of politics, but also to develop skills in writing, analysis, research, and quantitative methods.

Numerous courses are offered in five subfields: American political institutions, comparative politics, international relations, public administration and policy, and political theory.

The Political Science faculty is committed to excellence and innovation in teaching. Smaller class sizes permit extensive student discussion and participation. Students have frequent opportunities for contact and consultation with faculty outside of class.

If you have further questions about the Political Science program, please send an e-mail to the Department Chair, Steve Twing at

Programs Offered by the Department


Office of Admissions
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD 21532-2303

Dr. Stephen Twing
Chair, Department of Political Science
135 Guild Center