Faculty and Staff

Faculty
Dr. D. Alan Bensley
Dr. Paul C. Bernhardt

Dr. Jennifer Flinn
Dr. Kathleen Jocoy
Dr. Kimberly James
Dr. Erica Hoy Kennedy
Dr. Christopher Masciocchi
Dr. Renae Mitchell

Dr. Anne Murtagh
Dr. Michael Murtagh
Dr. Kevin Peterson
Dr. Trina Redmond-Matz
Dr. Bill Southerly

Adjunct Faculty
Administration Staff


Faculty

Dr. D. Alan Bensley

Dr. D. Alan Bensley

Professor

Office: Guild Center 226
Telephone:301.687.4195
Email: abensley@frostburg.edu

Degrees:

B.A., Grinnell College; M.S., Ph.D., Rutgers University

Teaching Interest:

Research Methods, Social Psychology, Industrial/Organizational Psychology

 


Dr. Paul C. Bernhardt

Dr. Paul C. Bernhardt

Associate Professor

Office: Guild Center 225
Telephone:301.687.4410
Email: pcbernhardt@frostburg.edu

Degrees:

BME: Georgia Institute of Technology; M.S., & Ph.D.: University of Utah

Web Page

Dr. Jennifer Flinn

Dr. Jennifer Flinn

Professor

Office: Guild Center 218
Telephone:301.687.4491
Email: jaflinn@frostburg.edu

Degrees:

B.S., M.A., Geneva College; M.S., Ph.D., West Virginia University

Teaching Interest:

Lifespan Developmental Psychology, Gerontology and Women's Studies


Dr Kathleen Jacoys headshot

Dr. Kathleen Jacoy

Assistant Professor

Office
Telephone:301.687.4194
Email: kajocoy@frostburg.edu

Degrees:

B.A. Psychology, Winthrop University (2008), M.A. Experimental Psychology, Appalachian State University (2010), Ph.D. Experimental Psychology, University of South Carolina (2019)

Teaching Interest:

Statistics, research methods, tests and measurements, developmental psychology, and intro.


Dr. Kimberly James

Dr. Kimberly James

Associate Professor
Program Coordinator for M.S. in Counseling

Office: Guild Center 207a
Telephone:301.687.4194
Email: kmjames@frostburg.edu

Degrees:

B.A., University of Tampa; M.S., Nova Southeastern University; Psy.D., Nova Southeastern University

Teaching Interest:

General Psychology, Child & Adolescent Development


Dr. Erica Hoy Kennedy

Dr. Erica Hoy Kennedy

Department Chair and Professor

Office: Guild Center 218
Telephone:301.687.4742
Email: ehkennedy@frostburg.edu

Degrees:

B.A., Franklin & Marshall College; M.S., University of Georgia; Ph.D., University of Georgia

Teaching Interest:

Physiological Psychology, Evolutionary Psychology, Research Methods


Dr. Christopher Masciocchi

Dr. Christopher Masciocchi

Associate Professor

Office: 304 USM Hagerstown Campus
Telephone:240.527.2746
Email: cmmasciocchi@frostburg.edu

Degrees:

B.A., Goucher College; M.S., Ph.D.,  Iowa State University

Teaching Interest:

Research Methods, Sensation & Perception, and Cognitive Psychology


Image-1.jpg

Dr. Renae Mitchell

Assistant Professor

Office: Guild Center 215
Telephone:
Email: rcmitchell@frostburg.edu

Degrees:

B.A., Johns Hopkins University; M.A., Towson University; Ph.D., University of Kansas

Teaching Interest:

Human Sexuality, Psychotherapy theory & techniques, Addictions


Dr. Anne Murtagh

Dr. Anne Murtagh

Associate Professor

Office: Guild Center 225
Telephone:301.687.4743
Email: ammurtagh@frostburg.edu

Degrees:

M.A. in Community Psychology, Temple University; M.A. and Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology, University of Montana

Teaching Interest:

Clinical psychology (counseling, psych. testing), Drugs and human behavior, Positive psychology


Dr. Michael Murtagh

Dr. Michael Murtagh

Professor

Office: Guild Center 220
Telephone:301.687.4446
Email: mpmurtagh@frostburg.edu

Degrees:

B.A., James Madison University; M.S., Villanova University; Ph.D.,  University of Montana

Teaching Interest:

Basic & Advanced Counseling Theory & Skills, Clinical Psychology, Forensic Psychology, Sexual Abuse and Trauma, Psychopathology, The Human Experience through Music


Dr. Kevin Peterson

Dr. Kevin Peterson

Professor Emeritus

Office:
Telephone:301.687.4778
Email: kpeterson@frostburg.edu

Degrees:

B.S., University of Steubenville; M.S. Frostburg State University; Ed.D., West Virginia University

Teaching Interest:

Psychological Assessment & Brief Therapy


Dr. Trina Redmond-Matz

Dr. Trina Redmond-Matz

Associate Professor

Office: Guild Center 221
Telephone:301.687.4197
Email: tredmond@frostburg.edu

Degrees:

B.A., Psychology @ Lycoming College; B.A., Philosophy @ Lycoming College; M.A., Kutztown University; Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University

Teaching Interest:

General Psychology, Counseling Theory, Multicultural Counseling, History & Systems of Psychology. Psychology of Women, Counseling Skills


Dr. Bill Southerly

Dr. Bill Southerly

Professor Emeritus

Office:
Telephone:301.687.4389
Email: bsoutherly@frostburg.edu

Degrees:

B.A., B.S., West Virginia University; M.S., Ph.D., Purdue University

Teaching Interest:

General Psychology, Research Methods, Computer Applications, Family Behavior, Careers in Psychology

 

Adjunct Faculty


Katie Barnard

Email: kebarnard@frostburg.edu


Michael Bice

Email: mdbice@frostburg.edu


James Dale

Email: jsdale@frostburg.edu


Amy Dunn

Email: asdunn@frostburg.edu


Kimberly Rowe

Email: kjrowe@frostburg.edu


Jamie Winters

Email: jwinters@frostburg.edu

 

 

Meet the FSU Psychology Staff

Debbie Koon

Administrative Assistant II
Email:
dkoon@frostburg.edu


Cassie Puffenberger

Administrative Assistant for Graduate Program
Email:
cbpuffenberger@frostburg.edu