Frostburg State University Named to Charter Excellence in Academic Advising Cohort

Nov 27, 2018 4:10 PM

Frostburg State University has been selected to participate in the first-ever national Excellence in Academic Advising comprehensive strategic planning process, a program created by NACADA, a global association dedicated to enhancing the educational development of students in higher education, and the nonprofit Gardner Institute.

Excellence in Academic Advising (EAA) establishes aspirational standards for institutions to evaluate and improve academic advising, acknowledge the central role of advising in promoting student learning, success and completion.

“I am very pleased to see a diverse and dedicated group of students, faculty and staff ready to tackle the challenge of truly transforming academic advising at FSU and giving us the opportunity to become a national leader in this area. This initiative is a once-in-a-generation opportunity for us to refocus and enhance student advising,” said FSU President Ronald Nowaczyk. “Effective advising throughout a student’s academic career is crucial to ensuring student success.”

In the first year, FSU will partner with an EAA fellow, who will guide the University through an institution-wide, evidence‐based decision-making, planning and implementation process to improve its academic advising efforts. Using EAA’s nine “Conditions of Excellence in Academic Advising,” FSU will refine, validate and establish the standards or benchmarks to guide a reflective self-study and strategic assessment of academic advising.

FSU faculty and staff have already spent the past year studying the University’s advising processes, identifying strengths and areas for change. FSU’s retention of first-year students to the sophomore year increased by 3.4 percent between 2017 and 2018, a possible benefit of the work that has been done so far.

In addition to FSU, 11 other institutions from across the country were selected from a large pool of applicants with various advising structures. This charter cohort represents a range of 2- and 4-year institutions, including small liberal-arts colleges, Historically Black Colleges and Universities, large, online, 4-year regional and state institutions, as well as both online and on-campus institutions. The other institutions are College of the Mainland, Wiregrass Georgia Technical College, State University of New York at New Paltz (SUNY-New Paltz), Florida International University, American Public University System, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, University of Hawai’i-Mānoa, University of Southern Maine, Johns Hopkins University, Claflin University and Wheaton College Massachusetts.

The effort is being led by task force co-chairs Dr. Ben Norris, chair of the faculty and an associate professor of chemistry, and Dr. Jay Hegeman, associate vice president for Student Success and registrar.

Situated in the mountains of Allegany County, Frostburg State University is one of the 12 institutions of the University System of Maryland. FSU is a comprehensive, residential regional university and serves as an educational and cultural center for Western Maryland. For more information, visit or Follow FSU on Twitter @frostburgstate.

FSU is committed to making all of its programs, services and activities accessible to persons with disabilities. To request accommodations through the ADA Compliance Office, call 301-687-4102 or use a Voice Relay Operator at 1-800-735-2258.