Frostburg State University Master’s in Nursing Concentrations Receive Accreditation

Jan 28, 2020 4:00 PM

The Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education has accredited all of Frostburg State University’s Master of Science in Nursing programs, which include four concentrations, family nurse practitioner, psychiatric and mental health nurse practitioner, leadership and management, and education.

Accreditation was granted for 10 years, the longest allowable period, and with no compliance concerns.

“These programs are meeting important healthcare needs,” said Dr. Heather Gable, chair of the Department of Nursing. “These concentrations meet areas of shortage in our health care system, especially in our immediate region, and the accreditation is a seal of approval that we have a quality program.”

The nurse practitioner concentrations, in particular, have a focus on those who wish to work in rural, medically underserved areas, while the education concentration is helping to address the shortage of nursing faculty. The leadership and management concentration prepares nurses to assume leadership in complex healthcare systems.

MSN degree holders must graduate from accredited programs to sit for certification exams or earn admission to doctoral nursing programs.

FSU offers a bachelor of science in nursing completion program as well, which is also CCNE accredited.

Undergraduate and graduate nursing programs have grown significantly since the first BSN program was first accredited in 2011, with 438 undergraduate and 56 graduate students enrolled in the fall of 2019.

The leadership and management and education concentrations are offered fully online, while the nurse practitioner programs are in a blended format. Those courses are primarily online, with on-campus immersion experiences generally twice per semester. All programs can be taken full- or part-time. 

For more information about FSU’s nursing programs, visit or email

The baccalaureate degree in nursing and master’s degree in nursing at Frostburg State University are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (

Situated in the mountains of Allegany County, Frostburg State University is one of the 12 institutions of the University System of Maryland. FSU is a comprehensive, residential regional university and serves as an educational and cultural center for Western Maryland. For more information, visit or Follow FSU on Twitter @frostburgstate.